New Things for a New Year

I’m no exception for those out there currently making all their New Year’s Resolutions.  I know sometimes NYR get a bad reputation because we shouldn’t be unrealistic and vow to change everything we don’t like about ourselves on this one day, right?  Well I happen to love New Year’s Resolutions.  They offer a fresh start…a fresh outlook on your own life.  So I encourage you to all take a few moments, and reflect on yourself.  Who is that you really want to be?  And work from that. 🙂

So I pretty much wet myself today in the supermarket when I came upon this

PB & J Larabar!! With my blender in the background...hey Blender

I finally found them!  It’s been a long, tough wait my friends!  I had no qualms about ripping into one when I got home to just see what it tasted like…PB & J is an awesome combo so I was eager to see what the hype was about.  I had very high expectations…

…and I was sorely disappointed 😦  This is just tasted like any ol’ Lara to me…and they are so tiny now!!  Seriously, did Larabars shrink? I though I was eating one of the fun sized ones.  Booo.  I even gave it a second taste, and nope, tasted just like all Laras seem to taste.  Very disappointing.  Not gross or anything…just not quite what I was expecting.  Too bad I bought three 😛

I did find my love though

Mighty Maple!  My absolute favorite peanut butter in the world, and that’s saying something, because I’ve tried lots.  This one particular supermarket I go to always has it for a lot cheaper ($3.99 vs $5.49 a jar) so I snatched it up!  Got some other fun items too (Sunshine burgers, edamame, the usuals) and some Oikos for free!  4 containers!  I was given free coupons ages ago and realized yesterday that they expired tomorrow!  Whoops!  Good thing I know a store that sells them! 🙂  Score!

What are everyone’s New Years plans?  I’ve tried for a month to get it together with people to plan something, and where does it look like I’ll be ringing in the New Year?  At home, on my sofa, with movies and possibly takeout.  Could be a lot worse though! 😉

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. psychoj1
    Dec 30, 2009 @ 20:32:28

    I’m not doing anything exciting for new year’s either. So you’re not alone!! Great store buys–YAY for free oikos and an even bigger YAY for mighty maple!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  2. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope
    Dec 30, 2009 @ 20:45:47

    I’ve been wanting to try the new Larabars forever and haven’t been able to find them yet, but mostly I’ve heard reviews similar to yours. Pretty disappointing!

    I’m with you on the New Year’s celebrating this year. It’s never a bad thing to spend the evening relaxing on the couch, snuggling with blanket, watching the fun shows!

    xxoo
    Heather

    Reply

  3. Kara
    Dec 30, 2009 @ 20:53:43

    I’ll be at home with take-out, too. I’m on call for work, so hopefully I don’t get paged to come in 😦

    Happy New Year, twin 🙂

    Reply

  4. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 02:37:36

    jeal of the peanut butter- cant find that stuff anywhere!! & i like your positive outlok on resolutions 🙂 fresh starts are always nice.
    have a great new years

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply

  5. Emily
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 10:23:06

    At home with movies and takeout doesn’t sound half bad…but I will be going to my friend’s house to play various board games/word games and eat too much food! lol!

    I totally agree.the PB&J lara didn’t seem too special to me either…and I don’t eat them very much, but I thought they were SUPER small too!

    Reply

  6. Anais
    Jan 01, 2010 @ 07:59:35

    I totally agree!! I thought it was going to be the best larabar yet (because I love PB&J) but no. Not at all. I still get it because for some reason they love having it at my store (and not the regular PB one) but it’s definitely not the best 😦

    Happy New Year to you too!!

    Reply

  7. Rosey Rebecca
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 11:25:42

    Hey!! We need to meet up soon! And I need to steal that PB from you. 🙂

    There are a few of us meeting in the city–I think next Sunday. Email me if you want to join. 🙂

    Reply

  8. kbwood
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 00:53:07

    ahh love me some mighty maple! i def eat it right out of the jar! i TOTALLY feel you on the PB and J larabar..it was SOO DISAPOINTING! i much prefer the PB cookie or cashew cookie!

    Reply

  9. Holly J
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 16:02:33

    I hate when something doesn’t meet our expectations! Happens with me and food all the time. At least you got some might maple- ah, peanut butter. It makes it all okay:)

    Reply

  10. sarahdbelle
    Jan 04, 2010 @ 16:34:01

    So sad about the larabar. I hate when I look forward to something in anticipation, and it doesn’t measure up. At least you found that pb, though. Hope you’re doing well dear!
    Sarah

    Reply

  11. allijag
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 21:37:23

    Love your outloook on NYE resolutions – I swore I wasn’t making NY resolutions – and then I did! 🙂 Never hurts, right? 🙂

    Reply

  12. Sherry
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 17:02:43

    I am utterly addicted to Mighty Maple!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

