If Only…

…a belly rub cured all!  My dog who I’m petting now sure seems to think so 🙂

So I’m back.

It’s been a difficult few weeks for me.  My (now ex) boyfriend and I are no longer together.  I won’t get into the details on here, but a very big thank you to those of you who offered me support, especially my bloggie FaceBook friends.  It means more than you know!  It’s better this way.  It has to be.

Enough of that; this is supposed to be a food blog, no?  So let’s do it.

No better way to jump back in than a grocery shop!

Van's Blueberry Waffles (first time trying these!), Falafel Sunshine burgers (cannot WAIT to try these; I've been looking for these everywhere!), tofu shirataki noodlesFeta cheese (MMM), frozen edamame in their pods, and big tub o' spinach!Butternut Squash Ravioli, Amy's Non-Dairy Burrito, Pumpkin Pie Stonyfield Yogut (!!!), and Gerber Baby OatmealSpooky S'more Z-Bar, Blueberry Z-Bar, and Jay Robb Chocolate Whey Protein Powder packet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know the baby oatmeal is kind of random.  I’m a huge fan!  My Mom used to serve this to me and my brother until we were about 10…and I eat it cold 😛  This was the ONLY kind of oatmeal I would eat until college…and even then I brought this with me and would have it on occasion.  Now I love a good bowl of oat bran or pumpkin oatmeal but I saw this in the store today and couldn’t pass it up!  Call it a comfort food, but I love it 🙂

I got some good finds today!  I went to two different health food stores and really lucked out.  I’m dying to try those falafel burgers…I’ll definitely let you know how they are!

Now.  I also made another interesting purchase this afternoon…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s right folks….Raspberry Rush Kombucha!!! This was a total impulse buy.  I’ve seen Kombucha on several blogs, but always felt pretty apprehensive about trying it.  I mean…what the heck is it anyway!?

“Kombucha is alternately known as a Chinese tea, a plant, or a mushroom. But it’s not really any of these. It’s a living culture of beneficial microorganisms, and in Kombucha’s case, the whole is infinitely greater than the sum of its parts! Our Kombucha is delicately cultured – some liken it to fermentation – for 30 days. During this period, essential nutrients form like active enzymes, viable probiotics, amino acids, antioxidants and polyphenols. All of these combine to create an elixir that immediately works with the body to restore balance and vitality. Kombucha has been used for hundreds of years throughout the world as a daily health tonic. The culture resembles a light brown, tough, gelatinous disk—and because it’s a living, growing entity, it can regenerate and create new cultures with every batch. In fact, GT’s Kombucha and Synergy are made from Kombucha cultures that are descendants of the original culture GT grew to create his first bottles.” Source

Hm!  I have to admit, the idea of drinking bacteria laden water from a growing mushroom really freaked me out.  I’ve heard you either love it or you really really don’t! So, what did I think?

Eyeing it up...feeling unsure.First Sip!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The verdict?

My thoughts? Eh....

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I didn’t love it or dislike it.  It smells like raspberry vinegar, which I was prepared for.  The taste actually wasn’t too bad!  It was fizzy (as it is carbonated) and I think I could handle it!  I think it’s more something I’d drink throughout the day, not all in one sitting.  Even my brother took a sip and said it was pretty good!  It’s expensive, at $3.99 a pop, but I was willing to try it out for the blog’s sake 😉

The supposed health benefits are amazing, so I guess we’ll see!

How was everyone’s Thanksgiving and weekend so far!?

Later gators! 🙂

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 00:17:26

    I’m so sorry to hear about your breakup–HUGS!

    Great grocery loot. I love z-bars!! 😀
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  2. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 00:38:17

    Oh sweetie, I’m so sorry to hear about your difficult week. I know how strong you are, and you WILL get through this with your head held high! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

    Reply

  3. shell625
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 01:06:54

    ive heard very mixed reviews about those drinks ! & yay for spooky s’mores clif z bar… i finally found them and LOVED it!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply

  4. Lizzy
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 01:35:13

    Hi Girlie!! I’m sorry about you and the ex, just remember things ALWAYS happen for a reason! (corny but so true!) I am in LOVE with KOMBUCHA! this is actually one of my FAV flavors. They grow on you I swear, but become an expensive addiction!! The blueberry GF Van’s waffles are my lifeline! 🙂 LOVE THEM! and remember to drain and rinse your tofu shirataki noodles like crazy to get the weird taste off of them! I’m so glad your back to posting! hope your having a great weekend! xoxo!

    Reply

  5. Anais
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 10:15:29

    I also didn’t love it or dislike it. I think if I found THE flavor I like, I would love it 🙂 but until then… it’s a weird drink!

    And I totally love the baby oatmeal! That’s why I love oat bran, it reminds me of it 😛

    ps: so glad you’re doing better! In the end this will make you a stronger woman 🙂 Hang in there!!

    Reply

  6. Kara
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 11:17:50

    I love the photodocumented review. I’m not brave enough to try (or spend $$$) on Kombucha yet. Maybe sometime soon.

    I really hope that you are starting to feel a little better! It’s hard and it’s supposed to hurt, but it sounds like there’s some optimism in your thinking! And just keep on enjoying doing what makes you happy 🙂 xoxo

    Reply

  7. janetha
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 20:01:52

    dogs sure have it easy, don’t they?? 😉 hang in there sweetie. things will perk up! i freaking HATE kombucha!

    Reply

  8. glidingcalm
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 20:39:46

    Awww! So sorry to hear about you and the bf. But everything happens for a reason, right?! HUGS, GURL!!!

    And daaaaaaaaaaaayumn! Nothing like some good eats and finds to cheer you up!! i have been DYING to try those Falafel sunshine burgers.

    and kombucha–ehhhh, i’ll pass.

    LOVE YOU MICHELLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

    Reply

  9. Haleigh
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 21:12:00

    I am so sorry to hear that the past week has been difficult for you. Keep you head up girl.

    The first time I tried kombucha, I totally despised the stuff.. it is definitely an acquired taste.

    Reply

  10. Megan
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 21:47:18

    Its MEEEE. i read this entry. too funny, i bought baby cereal today for julietta, but for me too,, i LOVE baby cereal… can that be worked into my meal plan??? 😉

    ps- love the fermented mushroom pic 😉

    Reply

  11. Sarah
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 22:11:36

    Glad you’re feeling a bit better. Let me know if you need anything. And I’m so happy you’re back.

    Reply

  12. Emily
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 14:48:19

    Sorry to hear about the break up! However, your stellar grocery trip seems like the perfect first step to moving on…I know it’s hard!

    Reply

  13. Katie
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 21:38:53

    Kombucha grows on you!

    Great looking groceries!

    I’d love for you to visit my blog – food, fitness, music and giveaways!
    http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/
    Katie

    Reply

  14. Lindsay
    Dec 12, 2009 @ 19:41:30

    Breakups suck, sorry to hear about yours 😦
    I love Kombucha but hate how pricey it is!!! The mango one is really good.

    Reply

  15. Rosey Rebecca
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 12:01:33

    I just sent you a FB message. Feel better! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

