Amazing Grass Review

**I’m leaving Friday morning for a weekend trip to my old college!  I haven’t been there since I graduated in May, and I have three friends having birthdays this weekend!  My boyfriend and myself are headed there and I CAN’T WAIT!  I need to relax, be with friends, and have some drinks!! 😉  To tide ya over until a weekend recap of sorts, here’s a product review!*** 🙂 Have a great rest of your week, and weekend folks!  I’ll be reading, no worries!

About a month ago I requested some samples from Amazing Grass, after seeing them all over the blogworld.  I was intrigued by all the energy bloggers seemed to get from these little packets and bars, and the veggies packed in there certainly didn’t hurt!

When I received my Amazing Grass package in the mail, it by far exceeded my expectations!  I thought maybe I’d get a packet or two; I had no idea I’d get the full package I’d seen floating around the blogosphere!  I was ecstatic!

I received several packets of the following:

Organic Wheat Grass Powder

Green Superfood Blend

Berry Green Superfood Blend

Chocolate Green Superfood Blend

Amazing Meal Original Blend

Amazing Meal Pomegranate Mango Infusion Blend

Amazing Meal Chocolate Infusion Blend

Organic Green Superfood Whole Foods Energy Bar

Organic Green Superfood Chocolate Whole Foods Energy Bar

Cool Amazing Grass Shaker!

Organic Wheat Grass

According to the Amazing Grass Website:

“Wheat Grass: Whole leaf wheat grass powder when grown, processed and stored under optimal conditions is considered one of the most potent leafy green vegetables available. Wheat grass powder is an excellent concentrated food source of beta-carotene, calcium, chlorophyll, fiber, iron and vitamin K. It is also a very good source of protein, vitamin C, vitamin B-12, folic acid, vitamin B-6, trace minerals and contains all essential amino acids. Dehydrated wheat grass has been used for over 50 years as a vitamin and mineral supplement.”

The Organic Wheat Grass packets that I was sent were awesome!  These probably had the most “grassy” flavor of all the flavors I tried, which makes sense.  These gave a little something extra to my morning smoothies, for only 30 calories.  Can’t beat that!  When you don’t want an overpowering fruit or chocolate flavor, I highly recommend these.

Green Superfood

Amazing Grass says:

“A full spectrum of alkalizing green superfoods, antioxidant rich fruits, and support herbs unite with Acai and Maca to provide a powerful dose of whole food nutrition. Complete with pre & probiotics and digestive enzymes to ensure rapid nutrient absorption and healthy digestion.

Green SuperFood: All natural and organic ingredients include organic wheat grass, organic barley grass, organic alfalfa, organic spirulina, organic spinach, organic chlorella (cracked cell-wall), organic broccoli, organic pure acai from Sambazon, organic maca, organic carrot, organic beet, raspberry, rose hips, pineapple, green tea, acerola cherry, organic flax seed powder, apple pectin fiber, F.O.S. (from chicory root), L. acidophilus, alpha and beta amylase, protease, lipase, lactase, cellulase, siberian eleuthero root and peppermint.  100% Vegan.”

The Green Superfood packets I got were also good!  I felt like these were a slightly less grassy version of the wheat grass.  Tasty and packed full of nutrients.

Berry Green Superfood

Amazing Grass says:

“A full spectrum of alkalizing green superfoods, antioxidant rich fruits, and support herbs unite with organic Acai and Goji berries to provide a powerful dose of whole food nutrition with a delicious berry taste. Complete with pre & probiotics and digestive enzymes to ensure rapid nutrient absorption and healthy digestion.

Berry Green SuperFood: All natural and organic ingredients include organic wheat grass, organic barley grass, organic alfalfa, organic spirulina, organic spinach, organic chlorella (cracked cell-wall), organic broccoli, organic acai from Sambazon, organic maca, organic carrot, organic beet, raspberry, organic rose hips, pineapple, organic goji berries, green tea, acerola cherry, organic flax seed powder, apple pectin fiber, F.O.S. (from chicory root), L. acidophilus, alpha and beta amylase, protease, lipase, lactase, cellulase, siberian eleuthero root, peppermint and other natural flavors. 100% Vegan.”

I enjoyed these Berry Green Superfood packets a lot.  I thought the berry flavor added just enough sweetness to the smoothie to not be overpowering, and you didn’t taste any grassy taste at all!  Thumbs up!

Chocolate Green Superfood

Amazing Grass says:

“A full spectrum of alkalizing green superfoods, antioxidant rich fruits, and support herbs unite with organic Acai, Maca and Cacao to provide a powerful dose of whole food nutrition with a delicious dark chocolate taste. Complete with pre & probiotics and digestive enzymes to ensure rapid nutrient absorption and healthy digestion.

Chocolate Green SuperFood: All natural and organic ingredients include organic wheat grass, organic barley grass, organic alfalfa, organic spirulina, organic spinach, organic chlorella (cracked cell-wall), organic broccoli, organic dutch cocoa, organic redwood cocoa, organic cacao, natural chocolate flavoring, organic acai from Sambazon, organic maca, organic carrot, organic beet, raspberry, organic rose hips, pineapple, green tea, acerola cherry, organic flax seed powder, organic oat fiber, apple pectin fiber, F.O.S. (from chicory root), L. acidophilus, alpha and beta amylase, protease, lipase, lactase, cellulase, siberian eleuthero root, peppermint and organic sea salt. 100% Vegan.”

My thoughts on the Chocolate Green Superfood? A-mazing.  I am a chocolate girl at heart, so these were spot on for what I was looking for in a smoothie.  I love anything chocolate, so these added a great dose of that (plus greens!) to my morning monster, without a ton of cals and fat.  🙂

Amazing Meal Original Blend

Amazing Grass says:

“Amazing Meal Original Blend is a powerful and satisfying blend of Green SuperFoods, plant based protein, phytonutrient rich fruits & vegetables, digestive enzymes and probiotics. For a nutritional breakdown see below.

  • 10 grams of complete protein, 6 grams of fiber in every serving.
  • Full spectrum of Green SuperFoods – wheat grass, barley grass, alfalfa & kale.
  • Organic Super Fruits – Goji & Açaí berries.
  • Great source of chlorophyll, antioxidants and essential fatty acids.
  • 100% whole food nutrition – no fillers or isolated vitamins.Main Ingredients

    Protein Blend – 15,000 mg
    Organic Hemp Protein Powder, Organic Rice Protein
    Greens Blend – 3,100 mg
    Organic Wheat Grass, Organic Barley Grass, Organic Kale, Organic Alfalfa

    Antioxidant Fruit & Vegetable Blend – 2,800 mg
    Organic Açaí, Organic Carrot, Organic Blueberry, Organic Goji, Organic Rose Hips, Organic Maca, Organic Banana

    Organic Flax Seed Powder – 500 mg
    Digestive enzyme blend – 20 mg
    Other Ingredients
    Organic Guar Gum, Organic Madagascar Vanilla”

  • The Original Blends (also in Chocolate and Pomegranate Mango Infusions–nutritionals not listed here) were probably my favorites of the pack.  The original blends added 110 calories to my smoothie, plus 10g of protein and some fiber!  These helped my smoothies keep me more satisfied throughout the morning and added some great flavor too!  While the Original Blend added a bit of a grassy taste, the Pom Mango and Chocolate Infusions added some great flavors, and really kicked the green monsters up a notch or two.
    Organic Green Superfood Energy Bars
    Amazing Grass says:

    Our Green SuperFood Energy Bar – Chocolate is a premium blend of nature’s more nourishing and delicious SuperFoods. One caddy contains 12 – 60 gram bars.

  • 230 calorie bar
  • 9 grams of fats (healthy omegas)
  • 5 grams of protein.
  • 27 grams of sugar nly 2 grams is from the cane sugar)
  • 37 grams of carbohydratesWe’ve taken our alkalizing Green SuperFood, with antioxidant rich fruits and vegetables and combined them in a bar that will satisfy your hunger and deliver nutrients to your body the way Mother Nature intended…unprocessed, organic and delicious.
  • These Superfood Bars were awesome!  Although the taste wasn’t 100% typical of a nutrition bar (much more…earthy) I really enjoyed it!  Even though they aren’t huge, they are dense, and you can taste (especially in the regular flavor) the earth I guess!  I preferred the chocolate one (obviously) but liked them both a lot!  I’d probably buy them occasionally if I saw them in stores, and they were on sale.
    The overall thoughts
    Overall, I am extremely grateful to Amazing Grass for giving me the opportunity to sample all of their wonderful products!  Each and every one was a bit unique in flavor (and sometimes texture!) and I can definitely feel the health benefits seeping into my bloodstream haha.  These were great products, although a bit expensive.  I liked the products, but unfortunately cannot afford to purchase these products (except maybe a stray packet or two) in bulk 😦 As much as I would love to have these infusions in my smoothies on the regular; it’s just not something I can afford right now 😦 Sadness!  I definitely recommend trying their products at least once though, so it might be worth the splurge for you if you can get your hands on some.  And the cute shaker that came with the samples is awesome and completely spill-proof!! Can’t beat that (especially if you’re klutzy 😉 )  My rating?  Two big thumbs up! Thanks again Amazing Grass for the opportunity to sample your lovely goods! 😀  Feel free to send some more if the whim every strikes haha 😉
    Amazing Grass 1Amazing Grass 2Amazing Grass 3
    10 Comments (+add yours?)

    1. janetha
      Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:16:47

      yay have a great weekend!! sounds like it will be so funnnn. what do you do with duke when you are off frolicking?

      Reply

    2. Kristin (Kristin's Nibbles)
      Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:17:24

      Thanks for the review! I’d love to try it some day!!

      xo
      K

      Reply

    3. Christina
      Sep 09, 2009 @ 18:37:52

      Hope you had a great time back at college!

      Reply

    4. psychoj1
      Sep 09, 2009 @ 19:15:23

      Thanks for the review and have a great time at your old college!
      ❤ jess

      Reply

    5. Rosey Rebecca
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 08:55:49

      You’re coming to Albany!! I forgot!! Text me when you’re up here! We should meet for coffee!

      Reply

    6. KRISTEN'S RAW
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 10:34:20

      Have a great trip!!

      I’m a huge fan of Amazing Grass. 🙂 Great stuff!

      Cheers,
      Kristen

      Reply

    7. sarahdbelle
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 11:50:02

      Have a wonderful time!
      Sarah

      Reply

    8. insideiamdancing
      Sep 10, 2009 @ 18:00:18

      Glad you enjoyed them- they’ve had some mixed reviews!

      Enjoy your weekend 😀

      Reply

    9. Lori
      Sep 14, 2009 @ 22:29:41

      I really enjoyed the bars, but didn’t care for the AG powders that much. Have a great time!

      Reply

    10. Melinda
      Sep 16, 2009 @ 16:17:03

      I love Amazing Grass products esp. those bars YUM! 🙂

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

