It’s a Wonderful Life

Finally, it’s time for a recap!  It’s about time, right?  Sorry about that ladies; I’ve just been so busy!  Graduate school and work combined is a bit more than I bargained for, but I believe after some adjusting, I’ll manage.  It will be a long road these next 2 years, but a girl’s gotta do what she’s gotta do to get that Master’s degree, ya know?? I do apologize in advance for the lack of posts that I’m positive will happen within the next few months.  I barely have time to hit up the gym combined with school/work/studying, let alone blog, that sadly posts will only be about once a week 😦 But I love blogging too much to give it up completely (as I realized on my prior hiatus), and I read/comment daily, so I’ll be around, never fear!  As always you can contact me at balancemycake@gmail.com if you need me in between posts!  Okay enough chit chat, more food pics!

Blueberry Chobani, Kashi waffle with PB and mashed banana

Blueberry Chobani, Kashi waffle with PB and mashed banana

California Club Pizza on Honey Wheat Dough at California Pizza Kitch with the boyfriend!

California Club Pizza on Honey Wheat Dough at California Pizza Kitch with the boyfriend!

Greek Pizza, minus the chicken, at CPK

Greek Pizza, minus the chicken, at CPK

Creamy hummus appetizer with pizza pita wedges at CPK

Creamy hummus appetizer with pizza pita wedges at CPK

Lots of green monsters

Lots of green monsters

Lots of Lunas

Lots of Lunas

Mmmm fresh melon!

Mmmm fresh melon!

Oatmeal mess with oat bran, wheat bran, PB, jam, banana, cinn...

Oatmeal mess with oat bran, wheat bran, PB, jam, banana, cinn...

Spinach salad with Sabra hummus and a Morningstar Farms Black Bean burger

Spinach salad with Sabra hummus and a Morningstar Farms Black Bean burger

Obviously these aren’t all my meals for the past week or two haha.  I’ve also consumed lots of fro yo, Adora calcium disks, Quiznos/Subway, etc.  I’ve had a bit of trouble keeping up with working out as consistently since school started.  I have tried VERY hard to maintain my 5-day a week workouts, but with school I”ve been getting about 4 a week.  Which I’m okay with, if I tweak my eating habits a bit to improve them.  I’ve just been craving sleep lately (no surprise there) so that’s been winning out more times than not with 5 am jaunts to the gym.  It’s all about balance though, so I’ll figure it out!  If it’s four days, it’s four days, something’s better than nothing! My classes have been going well, although one or two are going to be particularly challenging.  One is the traditional challenging…it’s statistics so it’s just hard, but the other challenges me because it takes me out of my social comfort zone, so we’ll see how that goes.

How have you all been?  I’ve been reading your blogs, so I mostly know, but anything else going on?  How has everyone that has recently started school (of any kind) faring?  How do you manage school, work (whether it’s a part-time/full-time job, athletics, activities etc.) working out, and spending time with your family and friends? Do you find it difficult to manage?

I took a cue from the lovely Janetha B. and will most likely be having her cottage cheese/chickpea/ranch seasoning mix tonight!  I’m intrigued!

Have a great rest of your (hopefully long!) weekend, and I’ll talk to you soon 🙂

Oh yeah, and don’t forget that my good friend Kristin of KristinsNibbles has moved!! PLEASE update your Google Readers/favorites to reflect this:www.kristinsnibbles.wordpress.com, or it won’t work!! Save it as this! 🙂

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Haleigh
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 16:52:56

    That oatmeal mess looks crazy good!

    Reply

  2. Kristin
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 17:00:27

    I’m glad you’re back!
    I’m doing well- aside from my blog-transfer mishap, of course!!

    School, work, friends, etc are incredibly hard to manage, I understand! I try to keep it all on track by literally scheduling EVERYTHING- study time, workouts, work, free time, etc I know it sounds a bit anal, but if you know exactly when you’re not working, have already studied and worked out- it leaves a lot more time for friends and family than trying to squeeze them in! And same goes for workouts… I always start my morning off with a workout because I feel I have accomplished something first thing!

    Hope that helps!

    Thanks again for the help with my site =)

    xo
    Kris

    Reply

  3. janetha
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 17:00:41

    mmm i love that pizza at CPK. and i had that flava of luna this week! miss youuuu.

    Reply

  4. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 19:59:10

    I totally understand how crazy things can get when school and life just seem to pile up on you. It can definitely get a little difficult to balance everything out, but your best bet is to just prioritize and take into account what requires the most of your attention. It sounds like you’re doing a great job of finding that balance and learning to keep your health a major priority without obsessing over it. These 2 years are going to fly by, and you’ll be so glad you took this path and put in all this effort for your future! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

    Reply

  5. psychoj1
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 21:37:34

    Don’t feel bad about only posting once a week! I’ve read whenever you get the chance to post 🙂

    Mmm love those foods! Glad you enjoy GM’s so much!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  6. Holly J
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 00:23:19

    The cali pizza looks AMAZING!! Mmmm….avocado!

    Reply

  7. insideiamdancing
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 01:33:35

    Glad you updated! It’s hard to keep everything balanced with a full schedule…am sure it will get easier once you are in a routine of school/homework, etc.

    Pizza looks awesome 😀

    Reply

  8. Rosey Rebecca
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 09:34:20

    School has been kicking my butt too!! I’ve only been able to post once a day instead of my usual 3!

    Reply

  9. sarahdbelle
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 12:23:57

    Good luck with everything Michelle! I know how stressful it can be, but you’re doing awesome!!!
    Take care,
    Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

