See Ya in Two Years

Happy Friday bloggy blogersons!  (yeah I dunno). It’s another Friday, another weekend, and for some, the last weekend of the summer. 😛  Including myself!  Thanks for all the well wishes on my grad orientation yesterday…I am studying school guidance counseling, and its a 2 year program.  I’m very excited about it!  My orientation was very informative, and I found out that for the next two years (more emphasis on the 2nd year 2010-2011) I’ll pretty much be a hermit.  But whatev, a hermit with a Masters Degree!! My second year will include a 20 hr/week internship at a school, plus 3 classes, and I need to hold some sort of a 20-30/hr a week PT job that actually pays to support myself.  Fun fun.  I think that far ahead, or I will begin to realize that I may be living in a box.

Anywho!  Onto the eats as of late.  I got quite ill yesterday morning (thanks large fro yo mix my brother got my Wednesday night!  Tasty, but evil).  I also tried to have a green monster for breakfast…yeah not a good idea.  Never soothe an upset tummy (due to too much dairy and artificial sweeteners) with more dairy. Ugh.  Needless to say, I made it to my early orientation in one piece thanks to some medicine :-\

After getting my student ID, books, and parking permit, I wandered around my new campus for a bit trying to find my class buildings and whatnot.  My orientation ran from 10am-1pm, and lunch was catered.  I had a diet pepsi,  1/2 of a grilled veggie and hummus wrap (quite delicious!), and a small wedge of cheese.  Not that much, and no pics for obvious reasons…don’t wanna freak out my new classmates!

After arriving home, I was pooped.  I plopped onto bed with my laptop, some TV, and a Trader Joe’s Trek Mix I love Antioxidants granola bar

tj trail mix bar

A big bowl of cherries and some random handfuls of TJs Trailmix were also consumed.  I vegged out for the afternoon, and actually can’t remember at all what I ate for dinner.  Totally coming up blank.  Verrrrrry odd.

I also worked out at the gym for a quick 40 minutes at 5 am yesterday.

Today was a standard day.  Fridays are one of my two off days from the gym each week.  I have to be at work a half hour earlier on Fridays, and there’s just no way I could push my wakeup time even earlier than 5 am.  Sorry.  So I slept til a glorious 6:20 (remember high school when that felt so early!?) and threw on some clothes (YEAH cas Fridays!) and had myself a tasty little breakfast

2 Blueberry Kashi waffles, one with 1/2 tbsp Naturally More PB, the other with 1/2 tbsp Mighty Maple PB, each with 1/4 smashed banana, 1 tsp flax, and a drizz of SF maple syrup

2 Blueberry Kashi waffles, one with 1/2 tbsp Naturally More PB, the other with 1/2 tbsp Mighty Maple PB, each with 1/4 smashed banana, 1 tsp flax, and a drizz of SF maple syrup

Served with a small glass of Light Plain Soymilk, and my daily Women’s multivitamin!

I hustled to work, turned down the weekly Friday breakfast offer (ordering out egg sandwiches from a deli), and did a whole lotta nothing.  Fridays are usually pretty quiet in the office, so I jam out to Pandora in my office, do some work, and it’s generally a good time.  I was feeling hungry around 11:30, so I had 1/2 of a Zone Perfect Dark Chocolate Almond Bar…no pic, it pretty much looked like poop, but tasted like a dream.

Lunch

Clif White Chocolate Macadamia, warmed up :)

Clif White Chocolate Macadamia, warmed up 🙂

Plate o' edamame

Plate o' edamame

Cherries!!! The last of them :( So good.

Cherries!!! The last of them 😦 So good.

Good lunch; took awhile to consume which is usually a plus in my book!  I hightailed it off to my Friday afternoon meeting, and then proceeded to get caught in a huge thunderstorm/tornado warning on my half hour commute home. Fan-freakin-tastic.  Honestly, EVERY Friday afternoon this summer, aside from maybe two, I’ve gotten caught in bad rain on my way home.  Suckage, but I made it home.  I collapsed on the couch with a book for awhile, and rubbed my puppy’s belly 🙂

I had something brand new for dinner!! I was craving eggs (usually I just have egg whites…very rarely do I have whole eggs) with a runny yolk (even rarer) so I knew..I had to try savory oats!  I got some funny responses…I nose turn up from Mom and an “Ew” from the boyfriend, but I forged on forward.

Awful picture!  1/2 plus a little cup oats cooked with water, some pepper, one laughing cow cheese mixed in, 1 slightly runny egg, and some salsa!

Awful picture! 1/2 plus a little cup oats cooked with water, some pepper, one laughing cow cheese mixed in, 1 slightly runny egg, and some salsa!

The verdict? Amazing!  I really liked them! I also sprinkled a little parm on top.  This kind of reminded me of ramen noodles in taste! Odd.  And the consistency was spot on (I like my oats a bit sticky).  I highly recommend…sweet oats and savory oats are completely different animals, so no worries about feeling strange about trying them out! 🙂

I ended the night with watching He’s Just Not That Into You with my Mom, and having lots of Peanut M&Ms and a few dark chocolate TJs edamame.  Now blog reading and What Not to Wear watching shall ensue.  Have a great weekend lovelies!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. burpexcuzme
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 23:33:24

    haha, they say grad students are CRAZY and extra stressed out. Well, I’m not a grad, but I’m gonna be a stressed out college student too, so I’ll be curious as to how you’ll handle with good eats even in the midst of all the craziness! Let’s cheer each other on!

    Reply

  2. janetha
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 00:04:33

    wow you are going to be one busy lady!! i often wish i had made school a priority instead of slacking and getting through it slowly. props to you. sorry about the upset tum! glad you are ok now. hooray for savory oats! i had some today too.

    Reply

  3. ksgoodeats
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 10:07:40

    White chocolate Clifs are the best!! Love the savory oats! I hope you liked the movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

