Our Mini Vacation

You ladies are all awesome!! Thank you so much for your lovely, sweet, and supportive comments regarding me and my guy! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  We are really two peas in a pod, and this mini vacation was MUCH needed for the both of us!

I didn’t take any pictures of the four days (Thursday-Saturday) that we were together, but be assured that Chinese food, ice cream, Subway (veggie sub!), pita chips with hummus, green monsters, Chobs, vegetable lasagna, carrot cake, and mucho alcohol (lotsa wine and fruity drinks!) were consumed ๐Ÿ˜‰ And, to be accountable, I did not go to the gym Thursday-Saturday.ย  We stayed pretty active, and my eating is also a bit more sporadic when we visit so although there were a few too many indulgences (example:ย  alcohol), I had an amazing time and have gotten back on track today, and that’s what counts! ๐Ÿ™‚

We spent time at the lake, drove my brother around a lot (NOT in the plan but oh well!), got my car inspected and oil changed, did some shopping, had drinks with friends, had a romantic dinner alone…all in all a fantastic time, and I’m very sad it’s over ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Back on track today though!ย  This morning I woke up bright and early at 6:30 am to head to the gym (opens at 7 on the weekends).

I did a sweaty 35 mins on the elliptical, and 15 mins power walking on an incline on the treaddie.ย  I then did a couple ab machines (3 sets, 12 reps each)

Total Calorie Burn: 460

After a shower and eyebrow plucking (haha) I whipped out the breakfast I though up last night:

Breakfast cookie!

Breakfast cookie!

I used to make these a lot last year, but have gotten off the bandwagon for whatever reason lately.ย  This baby has 1/3 cup oats, a big scoop of pumpkin, 1 scoop TJs chocolate protein powder, 1/2 tbsp flax, cinnamon, splash of skim milk, 1/2 tbsp Naturally More Peanut Butter, 1/2 sliced banana, and a little SF maple.ย  This morning I had this topped with a little more SF Maple and some cherries on the side…delish!

Cherries

I ran to a big job lot kind of store…it rocked! I got two new workout shirts for 5 and 7 bucks each!! So great!ย  I need some new workout clothes but just can’t see spending so much dough on a freakin’ sports bra!! So these were perfect.ย  I also picked up some Mighty Maple PB for $3.50 (!!), and some Bob’s wheat bran that I’ve heard good things about!ย  1/4 cup of this stuff (added to pretty much anything you want…oats, cold cereal, baking etc.) is only 30 cals (much like flax) and has a whopping 6g of fiber!ย  A-mazing!

After this we also headed to the health foods store which was right next door…ugh.ย  For a gal trying to pinch her pennies, this was NOT a good combination!!ย  I gotta start leaving my wallet at home!

I picked up a few little things at the store, but held back in a major way.ย  I only spent $20, so I can’t really complain as that was pretty much my grocery shop for the week.ย  I got Organic Bananas forย  49 cents/lb!! They were in the bin that were on their way out…brown, overly ripe, and I got 6 huge organic ones for 95 cents!! I just slice them and freeze for smoothies anyway, so this worked out crazy well! I also got organic spinach (only kind they had; I usually get regular to save $$$), some Luna and a Larabar (same prices as I pay at the regular store so it’s all good), some random organic plain, low-fat yogurt for cheap that was made locally!ย  And only 100 cals per cup, and 8g of protein!ย  Score!

I came home and chillaxed, tidied my room a bit, and put some pictures in frames and hung them ๐Ÿ™‚ย  I have also been catching up on my reader (hellooooo 200 posts!) and being very jelly towards all the bloggers that got to attend the Healthy Living Summit! All the bloggers that attended posted very thorough recaps, and I enjoyed reading every last one!ย  Lucky ladies!! Well, maybe next year! ๐Ÿ™‚

Lunch was inspired due to the melting heat New York is finally experiencing!

Green monster:  1/2 cup plain yogurt, 5 ice cubes, 1 scoop TJs chocolate protein powder, 1/2 banana, few random frozen fruit bites, 2 cups spinach

Green monster: 1/2 cup plain yogurt, 5 ice cubes, 1 scoop TJs chocolate protein powder, 1/2 banana, few random frozen fruit bites, 2 cups spinach

1 sliced red pepper, piece of whole wheat Naan, and little scoopettes of various flavors of hummus!

1 sliced red pepper, piece of whole wheat Naan, and little scoopettes of various flavors of hummus!

Great, well-rounded, refreshing meal!

…although it didn’t last me very long ๐Ÿ˜› About 2 hours later it was time for a Cookies N Cream Delight Luna Bar! Now THAT hit the spot ๐Ÿ˜‰

I ran to Marshall’s with my Mom…a mixed blessing yet again!ย  I DO NOT have the money to spend whatsoever, however I DO need some jeans for the upcoming fall (grad school AND work…need to be able to wear them both places on some days) and I happened to find two pairs that fit amazingly.ย  Jeans hardly ever fit my perfectly, as I’m 5’4″, pear shaped (hey booty!), and usually have trouble finding jeans, so this was a miracle.ย  AND to top it all off…they were dirt cheap!ย  I love Marshall’s!ย  So I sucked it up, bought them (and maaaaaybe a $7 cute hat) and now I’m good! ๐Ÿ˜€

My tum’s starting to rumble now, so I’m betting (yup!) it’s nearly dinnertime!ย  I’m not sure what I want…I’m thinking something easy and cool like a tuna or veggie burger wrap.ย  We shall see!!

I hope you all had a great weekend and are ready to tackle the upcoming week!ย  See you all later!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 20:58:46

    Glad you had a great weekend with your main squeeze ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m IN LOVE with the lunch! Can’t beat bell peppers, naan, and hummus!!

    Reply

  2. janetha
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 21:57:02

    yaaay for a fun time with the boyf! i am jealous of the HLS attendees too, looked so rad. 460 cal burn? stellar. glad you founds some new threads~have a great monday lovely! xo

    Reply

  3. Rosey Rebecca
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 22:40:18

    Glad you had a great weekend!! We need to plan our meet up! Email me lady!

    Reply

  4. psychoj1
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 22:50:21

    Loved this post and love how positive you are. I think it’s from seeing your BF! Glad you two had a blast together ๐Ÿ™‚ Two peas in a pod, awww!

    I have trouble finding jeans too! And the ones that work are 100 dollars. Man, I’m expensive ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Love cherries!!
    โค jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  5. burpexcuzme
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 00:08:15

    I’m so jealous you have a bootay. Mine is as flat as asphalt…gotta change that!
    And I’m so happy you had a great weekend…hahah, Chinese and Subways and mucho alcohol sounds great to me!

    Reply

  6. holly the healthy everythingtarian
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 09:54:27

    yay for breakfast cookie – soooo good! i might have to have one of those tomorrow!

    Reply

  7. Haleigh
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 16:33:39

    Cherries are my fav ๐Ÿ™‚ I am glad that you had an awesome weekend!

    I am pear-shaped too, so when I find jeans that I like and that fit then I stock up, for sure.

    xoxo

    Reply

  8. sarahdbelle
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 16:24:14

    So glad that you had a great weekend! Sounds like a wonderful time!!!

    Reply

  9. Christina
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 17:53:54

    I love Marshalls. You never know what you’ll find there! And a good pair of jeans is always worth the splurge ๐Ÿ™‚ You can get so much use out of them!

    Reply

  10. Maddy
    Aug 19, 2009 @ 02:00:25

    Hooray for mini vacations! We totally made it a point to stop at ONE Trader Joe’s on our way home, and we finally did in Columbus, Ohio. We got snacks for dinner and bought a LOT of vino *sheepish* But it’s so cheap and so tasty! We need to lobby for one of these near us! โค TJ's

    Reply

Leave a Reply

