Trader Joes = Love

All I can say about Trader Joes (although I will say a lot more!) is bliss, pure bliss. It seriously was one of the most awesome stores I’ve ever been in…and not just for the amazing treats and eats, but for the prices!!  I’ve never seen such low prices on organic, healthy food!

My friend Holly and I hopped in my car yesterday and started the one-hour trek to the closest Trader Joes! Neither of us had ever been so, it was definitely an experience!  We got there in 45 minutes, each grabbed a cart, and split up to do our own thangs.

The TJs wasn’t huge, but it was quality for sure!  I was overwhelmed and amazed by all the healthy, fun products they had there.  One of each, please!?

This is the loot I would up with:

Here we have Organic Vodka Sauce (LOVE vodka sauce!), TJs Chocolate Whey Protein Powder, Gnocchi, TJs Trek Trail Mix Bars, Multigrain Pita Chips, Whole Wheat Mini Pitas, and two types of specilaty TJs trail mix!! Nuts About Raspberry, and Sweet, Savory, Tart!

Here we have Organic Vodka Sauce (LOVE vodka sauce!), TJs Chocolate Whey Protein Powder, Gnocchi, TJs Trek Trail Mix Bars, Multigrain Pita Chips, Whole Wheat Mini Pitas, and two types of specilaty TJs trail mix!! Nuts About Raspberry, and Sweet, Savory, Tart!

TJs Plain 0% Greek Yogurt, Hummus Quartet (!!), Frozen Edamame, Organic Tempeh, Frozen Fruit Blend, Broccoli Slaw, TJs Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels (unsalted)

TJs Plain 0% Greek Yogurt, Hummus Quartet (!!), Frozen Edamame, Organic Tempeh, Frozen Fruit Blend, Broccoli Slaw, TJs Peanut Butter Filled Pretzels (unsalted)

2 lbs of blueberries, organic bananas, TJs Raspberry/Blueberry Muffins, Dark Chocolate Covered Edamame, and Dark Chocolate Covered Almonds with sea salt

2 lbs of blueberries, organic bananas, TJs Raspberry/Blueberry Muffins, Dark Chocolate Covered Edamame, and Dark Chocolate Covered Almonds with sea salt

The most amazing part?  I got all of this loot for $66.00!!! I couldn’t believe it!   I was expecting to spend a pretty penny, but this was nothing close to what I expected for all the wonderful goodies I got!

Once I got home, I immediately got excited to sample stuff! I tried the PB pretzels, chocolate edamame, chocolate almonds, and the two trail mixes (just mini handfuls of each…then bigger handfuls of the edamame and almonds later 😉 ) and it was all delicious!  The edamame was crunchy on the inside, which I wasn’t expecting, but it was awesome regardless!  I think the addition of sea salt to the outside of the chocolate covered almonds was an interesting and perfect addition, as it really brought out a great flavor.

The pretzels and trail mixes were everything I dreamed them to be!  I haven’t tried much else yet (it was only yesterday after all!) but I have two kinds of the hummus quartet (parsley and original) to sample in my lunch tomorrow at work!

And a BIG OL’ CONGRATS to Janetha for winning my 100th post/Trader Joe’s contest for suggestions the hummus quartet and chocolate espresso beans (which led to the chocolate edamame!)  She’ll be getting a special prize soon! 🙂

My eats this weekend were the norm…verrrrry snacky, and therefor I feel verrrrry pooey about it 😦  Back on the wagon tomorrow I suppose!  I need to find my inner self-control…badly! :-\

See ya’ll tomorrow!  I have a crazy week ahead of me (boyfriend visiting Wednesday night-Saturday!) so posting during the later part of the week will most definitely be sporadic/non-existent!

Love to you all!!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Haleigh
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 21:21:21

    I had my first Trader Joe’s grocery trip this week too- I can never go back now!!

    Reply

  2. janetha
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 22:16:09

    WOW agree with you, TJs prices are out of this world cheap! you seriously got SO much for your $$$. and really good picks, too! i am interested to hear how the protein powder tastes. that is one i could take home with me next time i go to a TJs. hooray for the boy visiting! i am sure you are stoked. back on the wagon it is! xoxo

    Reply

  3. Jenna
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 22:43:59

    looveeee trader joes! i definitely have to agree with the prices, they are wicked cheap. i guess i have to be lucky to have a TJ’s in my town! have you ever tried the pretzels with peanut butter inside them? OMG, to die for! you must try them next timee!
    jenna
    http://jennaelise.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  4. Rosey Rebecca
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 23:33:57

    My mom got me those blueberries and the chocolate covered edamame!! Which TJs did you go to? Westchester?

    Reply

  5. buffmuffy
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 01:08:07

    The loot looks awesome!
    I wish we had a TJ here in Omaha 😦
    -muffy

    Reply

  6. lilybeans
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 08:51:22

    That Vodka sauce is amazing! I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Reply

  7. ksgoodeats
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 09:20:55

    You picked a lot of great things!! Glad you had a fun TJs experience 🙂

    Reply

  8. Becci
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 09:30:13

    Wow! Those look like great choices! Enjoy!!

    Reply

  9. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 10:20:25

    What an awesome TJ’s load!!! I’m so jealous of all these goodies. And what great prices.

    Good luck on your busy week!

    xxoo
    Heather

    Reply

  10. psychoj1
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 10:43:46

    Love your TJ’s load! Sounds deeelightful. I need to go to a TJ! I’ve only been like once!!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  11. sarahdbelle
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 12:30:13

    Glad you enjoyed TJ’s! Sounds like you bought some awesome stuff ; )
    Sarah

    Reply

  12. Maddy
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 12:49:00

    Welcome back to the blogging world! I hadn’t been following for a while since I thought you were taking a somewhat permanent break. Glad to see you’re back on the bandwagon, though 🙂

    And, yes, Trader Joe’s = love. I’m in the middle of a cross-country trip and my one goal is to stop at a Trader Joe’s since we don’t have any close to home, haha!

    Reply

  13. SHE-FIT
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 14:38:47

    WHoooOooO! I love Trader Joes. I can spend hours in that store walking up and down the aisles looking at everything.

    Reply

  14. Holly J
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 17:02:02

    This Saturday was a pretty sik experience! There is no one else I’d rather pop my TJ’s cherry with!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

