Sick Day :(

Yup, that’s right…after a 6 year run, I’ve taken a sick day today.

I’ve worked four jobs since age 16 (including the one I have now), and the last, and only time I’ve ever called in sick was when I was in high school, working at Subway and I got strep throat.  I actually worked for a day with strep (not knowing I had it), lost my voice, realized working in food prep with strep was very unsanitary, so I called in sick.  And that was that.  I’ve braved heavy upstate New York snowstorms, illness and just some blah feeling days, and I’ve never called in sick.  SO today is quite a rarity for me.

I woke up this morning feeling pooey…dragging my bum to the gym, thinking maybe I was just tired and had a bit of a food hangover (thanks scone) but nevertheless, the workout didn’t really help.  So I called in, came home and took a hot shower, grabbed 1/2 a banana with PB and hot tea, and climbed back into bed.  I watched some ABC Family oldie sitcoms and then around 9 made some breakfast.

Large multi-grain pancake made with skim milk, topped with SF maple syrup, a little Smart Balance, and a bit of fresh ground PB on the side. Served up with a glass of skim milk.

Large multi-grain pancake made with skim milk, topped with SF maple syrup, a little Smart Balance, and a bit of fresh ground PB on the side. Served up with a glass of skim milk.

It was one of those days where my stomach was queasy, and yet hungry (especially after working out) at the same time.  Around 10 am (after some more TV watching and reading), I nodded off while watching Rachel Ray (my female crush!).  Next thing I knew…it was 1 pm!  Hellooooo three hour nap!  I rarely nap during the day ever (I always wake up feeling nauseous) so this was something else!  3 hours is borderline bedtime, not a nap!

Anywho, I woke up feeling a bit better, and chatted with my Mom for a bit.  I then decided to get something else in my tum so around 2:30 I made up some homemade trail mix

Salted almonds (I MUCH prefer unsalted, but this was all we had), raisins, chocolate chips, dried cranberries, and some Optimum Blueberry cereal

Salted almonds (I MUCH prefer unsalted, but this was all we had), raisins, chocolate chips, dried cranberries, and some Optimum Blueberry cereal

A couple other random bites were ingested…a little bit of a whole wheat wrap, and a couple bits of PB.

I climbed back into bed with my laptop, my snack, and some Wife Swap.  I caught up on some e-mails, FB, and the like, and then had some Vitamin Water 10, Lemonade (Multi-V) flavor.

Now I’m blogging, and will be having a little dinner with my family in a few.  I plan on having some sweet potato fries later if my tum permits.

I’ll have to see how I”m feeling tomorrow.  As of now, I plan to go in, although my boss graciously offered to allow me to stay home (with pay…I usually have unpaid days off, like today) tomorrow if I’m still feeling under the weather.  Tempting, but I think I’ll be okay to make it in.

Hope you lovely ladies are having a good day, and thanks for all the great Trader Joe’s tips!  I’m lovin’ them!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janetha
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 17:39:56

    dang that is impressive to have taken just one sick day ever!! sorry you are feeling ill though 😦 i call in sick more than i should probably 😛 but only on days it snows over a foot in the mountains~haha. FEEL BETTER! and take that sick day if needs be

    Reply

  2. Heather @ Health, Happiness, and Hope
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 21:40:49

    Sounds like you did the right thing taking off. If you’re not feeling up to it, there’s no point in pushing yourself past your limits. Hope you’re feeling better quickly! 🙂

    xxoo
    Heather

    Reply

  3. ohsoravenous
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 01:37:53

    OHMYGOD YOU GET IT!!! Whenever I tell people naps make me wanna puke, they look at me like HUH????

    Feel better soon love!

    Reply

  4. Becci
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 09:24:47

    I hope you are feeling better!!!

    Reply

  5. sarahdbelle
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 10:52:56

    Oh no! Hope you feel better soon!
    Sarah
    http://www.sarahdbelle.wordpress.com

    Reply

  6. psychoj1
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 12:03:11

    Feel better love!

    Hope you are all better tomorrow! Give your body a rest 🙂
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  7. Haleigh
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 13:22:01

    It sounds like you definitely needed the day off girl! I am glad you are back to blogging 🙂

    Reply

  8. ksgoodeats
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 17:37:13

    Hope you’re feeling better!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

