Whirlwind

Hi guys!!!!  Whew, I feel like I’ve been gone forever, but it’s only been a couple days 😛

I know a few of you have been wondering how the job is going, so I’ll start with that!

It’s going very well!  Like I said before, I worked this job last summer, and I was fortunate enough (especially in this economy!) to be asked back again this summer (and school year too!!!).  My job entails a lot of computer and internet research for my boss, collaboration on special project ideas, and typing up letters/e-mails/etc for my boss as well.  I sometimes help out with the phones when needed, filing, cleaning out file cabinets, that sort of thing.  I help manage my boss’ e-mails and schedule as well.  There is usually periods of time where it’s busy busy busy, then times where it’s very quiet (which is not a bad thing!)  It’s a great mix of things, and keeps me very occupied!

This week has been a bit hectic…getting used to a new schedule, trying to fit the gym in…adjusting to my new lunch time, and not having a whole lot of time in the evenings (I work 8:30-4:30, but I have a half hour commute both ways) so it’s all taken so major adjusting.  I’ve found that even though I go in a bit earlier than I used to (8:30 am vs. 9am), I still have time to squeeze in an hour long gym workout if I get up at 5:15 am, and workout from about 5:45-6:45 am.  I get in some cardio on the elliptical and treadmill, and squeeze in a little strength training a few times a week.  It’s not the easiest thing getting out of bed that early and driving to the gym, then coming back, getting ready, commuting a half hour to work, working 8 hours, and commuting back.  It took a toll on me this week…I was exhausted most nights when I got home.  This led to some stress, and very early bedtimes the past two nights.  Although, this early bedtimes did leave me feeling quite refreshed yesterday morning, and today as well!  Just gotta get back in the groove of things!

While a 9-5 type job isn’t always the best, it has it’s pros and cons, so I’ll just roll with the punches and adjust!

OKAY back to the food!  Again, I have multiple food pics from various eats Tuesday-today, so I feel a montage of pictures would again, be a good idea!  I promise I’ll get back to regular-ish blogging (maybe every other day?  or once a day?  We’ll see.) ASAP!  I think you all can understand the need for some time after such a huge adjustment!  🙂

So…onto the eats!  Pretty self-explanatory!

apple workbluebran vitatopcarrot garlic hummusegg whites in car

kashi choc. pretzluna choco pecan pieo waterpeach chobanisalmoln stop and shop sushistewarts ice creamturkey alexis wrapveggies in container

So, who’s happy it’s the weekend!? Has a whole new meaning once you’re back working full time, that’s for sure 😉

Any fun plans for the weekend??

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    May 30, 2009 @ 21:38:56

    Me me! Im happy it’s the weekend! 😀

    I just started a new job not long ago, so I can totally understand the whole “getting back into the groove of things”!

    By the way, that was quite a catchy slogan that you entered into my Holey Donuts Contest!

    Reply

  2. Susan
    May 31, 2009 @ 05:10:03

    That does sound like a rough schedule. I work a lot of nights and weekends, but I can’t complain because I know I’m not cut out for 9-5 work! It’s just too exhausting. I’m very impressed you get up so early to go to the gym. Just don’t tucker yourself out! Funny how everyone talks about how busy and hard university is, but adjusting to working life can be so difficult!

    Reply

  3. ksgoodeats
    May 31, 2009 @ 09:25:34

    Glad you’re adjusting to the new schedule! The first few weeks are always tough but then after a while it just becomes second nature. Hope you’re enjoying your weekend!

    Reply

  4. Anais
    May 31, 2009 @ 10:23:02

    I had the same problems when I switched my schedule to full time work! I actually preferred working out once I got back in the afternoon. The only problem was that there were times when I’d be too tired to work out…

    Enjoy your week-ends!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

