Graduation Day

Hi! 🙂

Today I graduated college with two Bachelor’s Degrees, one in Psychology, one in English!  I graduated Magna Cum Laude from my university, and it was a day filled with sadness (is it REALLY over!?), happiness (can’t WAIT for the future!), and lots of love from family and close friends!

I don’t have many pictures of the ceremony yet, my Mom and Aunt took bunches of them, but have yet to send them to me, but I’ll get a few up ASAP!  I know you all wanna see the cap and gown-ness! 😉

This morning started verrrrrrry early, at 5:30 am ahhh!  I had the alarm set for 5:45 (in an attempt to squeeze in a jog/walk..my last one around campus!) but I woke up early (some building’s fire alarm…I’m NOT going to miss those hah!).  I looked out the window and….rain. Pouring rain and wind!  Nooo!  Rain was in the forcase, but I was kinda hoping it wasn’t true!  Our cermony was held, rain or shine, outdoors!  I obviously had to skip the walk (tear) but I used the time to do last minute packing and took my time showering and getting ready.

I ate the very few things left in my apartment…a WCM Luna and a Blueberry Chobani, not pictured, with a hot cup of tea.

My Mom and Aunt drove to my apartment VERY early this morning (got there around 8:15 am) so we chatted for a bit, I loaded up my car some more, and we had some photo ops!  (pics to come!)

I had to be there to line up at 9 am, so I walked my family over to the seating area, and got them situated, then headed over, met up with my friends, and lined up!  Complete with pictures, an alumni pin, and lots of WIND!  Thank goodness the rain cleared up by then…it was just freezing…52 degrees and windy.  Blah.  But no rain was a blessing 🙂

The ceremony was very quick, about an hour.  My college does not call you across the stage to get your diploma, which is why it’s so quick!  I see a lot of you had to wait through hours long ceremonies…not me!  We all just stand, move our tassles, and that’s that!  To some it may seem impersonal, but they have individual major ceremonies where they call your name that are optional; the big ceremony is just more efficient this way!

It was kind of a sad ceremony, some great speeches, and I got to sit next to a great friend of mine! (Hi Maddy!)

Afterward, in the biting cold, my family and I finished loading up the cars (bye apartment! You will be VERY missed…) and headed over to a cute cafe I like for lunch.  We took a gamble going there right after graduation but, due to an excellent loading parking spot, we got right in!  The eats weren’t all that healthy, but they were delicious, and my mom ordered lots of my favorites for us to share 🙂

I had a eggplant florentine grilled sandwich.  It had fried eggplant (their grilled eggplant just isn’t tasty!), roasted red peppers, spinach, and mozzerella cheese on grilled 12-grain bread.  It was kinda greasy, but still very good!  It came with a side of amazing coleslaw!

peaches grilled sammie

We got a side of sweet potato fries (SO good here!) for the table…and I had my fair share 😉

peaches sweet potato fries

AND of course we got lunch-dessert 😉 We were going to just get one to share, but we got two 😮 to share between the three of us.  Mommy picked my faves…

Peanut Butter Mousse Pie

Peanut Butter Mousse Pie

Oreo Mousse Cake

Oreo Mousse Cake

Ahhhh delicious!

After the journey back home, I relaxed this afternoon reading the third Twilight book, Eclipse and trying to nap..didn’t work haha.  Later tonight we headed out with my brother (who couldn’t make the ceremony this morning) to a nice Italian restaurant for dinner!  I hadn’t been here in years and it was awesome!!!

I ordered the potato gnocchi!! I absolutely LOVE gnocchi!  It was served simple, in a pomodoro sauce with some fresh ricotta on top!

grad gnocchi

Tasty!  I brought half home (still full from that big lunch!)

I also had two small pieces of Italian bread w/evoo, and a few bites of my brothers salad, my mom’s pork (delish!) and my bro’s vegetarian lasanga (amazing!!!)

My bro wanted dessert so he ordered a flourless chocolate cake, which my mom and I had a few bites of

grad flourless cake

I had no idea how dense and full of dark chocolate (my favorite!) this would be!  It was excellent!  This restaurant gets a double thumbs up in my book! 😉

Overall, a great, smooth-running graduation day!  I will miss my college years tremendously…it’s really true (and you usually don’t realize it until they’re over!) that they are the best years of your life.  So far, that is 😉

graduation daygraduation day tassle

Have a great night everyone 🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    May 17, 2009 @ 23:20:15

    Oh man, Fire Alarms at 4AM! DO NOT Miss those!

    CONGRATS! That is AWESOME! What do you plan on doing with your degree? I think that is always interesting!

    All the food looks great! 😀

    Reply

  2. Kara
    May 18, 2009 @ 09:42:47

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! This is such a huge accomplishment! You look great in your cap and gown! I hope you’re taking the time now to kick back a little! Also, those desserts are looking pretty fine!

    So happy for you, twin!!

    Reply

  3. Anais
    May 18, 2009 @ 10:43:50

    Yay!!!! Good job!!! You’re so lucky that your grad was so short…the one I had last year and that I’ll have this year are so.long. and boring. And it’s going to be at night? Anyways!

    I so wish I could sit down and read a good book! Soon I guess 🙂

    Reply

  4. janetha
    May 18, 2009 @ 13:07:31

    WOOO! CONGRATS LADY!!

    oh man i bet waking up to the rain was a huge bummer! at least it let up later on.

    the lunch looked good.. ‘specially the dessert. and you deserved to indulge! you worked your butt off to graduate!!

    oh i LOVE gnocci! i haven’t had it in a couple years, not since i was at a little italian eatery in london. takes me back.

    once again, congrats to you! so impressive!

    Reply

  5. psychoj1
    May 19, 2009 @ 07:14:15

    Congrats girl!!!! I am so proud/happy for you 🙂 A great day with great eats as well. All the desserts look heavenly!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  6. Andrea (Off Her Cork)
    May 19, 2009 @ 10:02:01

    YaY! Congrats! What an exciting time! 😀

    Reply

  7. sarahdbelle
    May 19, 2009 @ 10:46:09

    Congratulations! I’m glad it didn’t rain for you. It looks like you had some delicious celebrations ; )
    Sarah

    Reply

  8. Lauren
    May 19, 2009 @ 17:43:18

    So, SO exciting! Congrats. I had such mixed emotions when I graduated college – they were some of the best years of my life, but there is also a lot to look forward to 🙂

    I love the idea of an eggplant sandwich – I might have to try that. Gotta love sweet potato fries, and those pieces of pie look insanely good – what a great way to celebrate!

    A quick note: I majored in psych and minored in english – great minds think alike 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

