Falling Behind

Good Morning! 🙂

Whew I seem to have fallen a bit behind on my posting!  Exams/packing/exercising…too much going on haha!  Better get ya’ll updated…

Monday afternoon snack and dinner:

Shortly after my lunch on Monday, I was still pretty hungry so I had some love in the form of Chobani

DCFC0553DCFC0554

Mmm Vanilla 0% Chobani, with the last of my Mango Agave Almond Bear Naked Granola.

Dinner was a clean-out-the-freezer mish mash, but I was excited to use up a lot of pantry and freezer items, and it came out really good!

I decided to make a tomato sauce to serve over some whole wheat pasta I needed  to use up.  Here’s the mix:

The rest of a jar (about 1/2) of Barilla Roasted Garlic Marinara Sauce

2 sliced chicken sausages (one was spinach/feta, the other sundried tomoato)

A sliced zucchini

Sliced onion

Handful baby spinach I needed to use up

A BUNCH of spices…garlic powder, Italian seasonings, a bit of red pepper flakes, and jarred garlic as well

I put the veggies and the sausages (with spices) in a pan over medium heat and cooked them all up nicely!  Oh, and I coated the zucchini in a little EVOO before I did that 😉

With pasta and cheese

DCFC0555DCFC0556

This was REALLY good.  I’ll definitely be making this again!

Dessert Monday night was some Light Cookies & Cream Ice Cream and one or two bites from the PB & Co. jar 😛

Tuesdays Eats:

Yesterday, although not “busy” in the actual sense was quite busy for me!  I got up early, and decided to head out for a jog/walk around campus!  After that, I headed to my gym and did 30 minutes on the elliptical, levels 12 & 13.  Finally, I ended everything with a ten minute treadmill power walk.  Honestly, I’m trying to jumpstart a little weight loss and this was the most calories I’ve burned in one shot…ever!

Calories Burned (altogether):  730!! Wowza!

I obviously needed to refuel after this intense workout (even though I surprisingly wasn’t too hungry) so I whipped up my love I haven’t had in awhile…oat bran!

DCFC0557

What’s in this swirly goodness you ask?  Well I’ll tell you!

1/3 cup oat bran

1/2 smashed up banana

BIG scoop (about 1/3 cup) pumpkin

Water for liquid

1/2 tbsp flax, sprinkled on top

Drizz of SF Maple Syrup

AND…

PB2!!

I got 4 sample packets in the mail from the Bell Plantation…two regular, and two chocolate PB2s.  I was excited to try this out (although I feel like years ago I tried it before…or at least something very similar!).  I mixed half of one regular packet with some water (just eyed it) and it got really liquidy, because I obviously added too much.  It was fine though, I wanted it kinda runny for the oat bran bowl!  So I drizzled it on top, and look how great it spread out!  It was very tasty, peanutty in every bite!  I highly recommend, although I think mixing it in something else (probably smoothies mmm) would be best; I don’t know how tasty it’d be on it’s own, but I’ll letcha know when I try it out!  🙂

Yesterday was spenting reading food blogs and being a FaceBook stalker studying.  I have my LAST undergrad exam at 3:30 pm today!  Then it’s packing packing packing for the next three days until graduation 😛

I broke for some lunchie around 1:30 pm

DCFC0558

Here we have my last La Tortilla whole grain wrap.  Inside is the last 1/4 of my avocado, 2 egg whites, and about 1 tbsp Roasted Red Pepper hummus.  On the side, 1/2 a sliced green pepper, some more hummus, and 1/2 a banana with a smidge of Mighty Maple on it!  That weird stringy thing next to the banana was one of those  “strings” that often come off bananas when you peel them.  They gross me out, so I had to get that off of there!  Ick.

<Insert more studying here>

Snack was 1/2 cup Friendship Whipped Cottage Cheese with some defrosted frozen strawberries on top…good combo!

DCFC0559

Kinda looks like whipped cream, hm?  Sadly, it is not.

At this point I was done pretending I was studying anymore, and a few hours later (after another 3 mile walk with the roomie…had an apple while we walked) I got out some leftovers for din.

DCFC0560

Up close

Up close

The Sprouts

The Sprouts

I whipped up some leftover sauce with pasta from last night with a little parm spinkled on top.  On the side I had some whole wheat naan (which I LOVE!) and some roasted brussels sprouts, which I popped in the over for 15 minutes at 420 degrees, with some spices and 1/2 tbsp evoo.  These came out so. good. I really love the sprouts!

Dessert was an unpictured cup of Light Cookies & Cream and 3 Dark Chocolate Peanut M&Ms from the roomie!

Which FINALLY brings us to….today, Wednesday!

I awoke early yet again, around 6:15 am.  I’m beginning to think this is a lasting thing!  Oh well, I love getting up early! 🙂

I headed straight out on my 3 mile campus walk, no jog today.

After I got back (about an hour later) I popped a Kashi Blueberry Waffle in the toaster (which of course is on the fritz and didn’t want to toast for me) and ate it, plain and slighty mushy, before hitting up the gym around 8:30.

I pounded out 35 minutes on the elliptical (levels 11 & 12) and a ten minute walk on the tread.

Total Calories Burned (including my walk):  557

After a shower, it was my favorite time of day…breakfast time!!

I had put some overnight oats in the fridge last night and they were waiting for me this morning!  In the mix:

1/3 cup oats, put in the fridge with water overnight

1/2 sliced banana

1 0% Plain Chobani

A few strawberries

1/2 tbsp flax

1 tsp imitation vanilla extract

Sprinkle cinnamon

1/2 packet of PB2, regular flavor, mixed with water and spread on top!

DELICIOUS!

overnight oats with pb2

Kinda looks gross, but it tasted wonderful!

I’ve been keeping track of my water intake yesterday, and again today, and I have to say if I make the choice to just re-fill my cup regularly, I drink a good amount of water!  Yesterday I had 7 good sized glasses of water, and an entire Sigg’s worth!  Not too shabby, except I was in the bathroom twice an hour 😛

Have a fantastic day ladies!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janetha
    May 13, 2009 @ 12:23:04

    you eat so many of the same things i eat, i think that is why i love reading your blog so much. well, and your wit and charm of course 😉 what do you use to track how many calories you burned? 730?! thats freaking remarkable!

    Reply

  2. ksgoodeats
    May 13, 2009 @ 12:28:16

    Ahhh PB2! I need to order some of that! The possible creations are endless!

    What kind of naan do you buy (brand)? Holy cow – that sounds like a killer workout! Nice job!!

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    May 13, 2009 @ 12:43:34

    Mmmm whole wheat naan is the bread of the gods! Your clean-out-the-freezer meal sounds like it came out really well – sometimes those are the most fun meals to make (and eat) 🙂

    Reply

  4. Emily
    May 13, 2009 @ 18:19:47

    I have got to try some naan! Doughy goodness! YUM~!

    Love using up leftovers and “cleaning out the fridge” to make a stellar dish!

    Reply

  5. psychoj1
    May 13, 2009 @ 21:11:09

    Everything looks soo good! Great workout 🙂 Love your yogurt+granola.
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  6. Lizzy
    May 13, 2009 @ 21:26:12

    LOVE the CHOBS!!! I just got PB2 today, I can’t wait to have it in my breakfast tomorrow! how did u like it today?

    Reply

  7. Kristie
    May 14, 2009 @ 09:30:20

    My favourite kinds of meals are the ones that use up all kinds of leftovers and things hanging around in the freezer. It’s so satisfying to get rid of a bunch of stuff for one meal!

    PB2 is awesome. On oats, in yogurt, as a veggie/noodle peanut sauce, stuffed in dates or bananas… mmmm.

    I just finished discussing with my mom how I always drink more water as long as I have my bottled filled up haha. It’s so true though! If it’s sitting there all nice and full I’ll drink it no matter what.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

