Skipping Around Town

Happy Saturday lovely bloggies!!

I just want to thank you all SO much for the kind words last night.  I was having a really bad night emotionally after indulging in all that rich food (and was up all night sick because of it).  There are indulgences, and then there are indulgences.  And I definitely went way too overboard yesterday and got sick because of it.  It’s so important to treat yourself once and awhile, but your body need to be treated with respect too!!  She keeps you running everyday, and she needs to be fueled properly…not with so much indulgence that sickness is involved 😦  But I appreciate all of your comments, encouraging me that we all do have those days, and that it’s not the end of the world.  More like a wake up call!  Thank you all, it really helped 🙂

Needless to say, I woke up pretty early after an uncomfortable and sleepless night, at around 6:30 am.  I looked outside and it was pouring, but I refused to let that deter me from my gym sesh that was GOING to occur, no matter what.  I hightailed it over to my gym and gave it my all…a very sweaty elliptical workout for 40 minutes, and then 10 power walking on the treadmill.  I finished everything off with a great ab circuit (machines are available at  the gym I go to when I’m home, not so much my college/apartment gyms!) and felt really strong, and cleansed afterward.  I also chugged a ton of water to help my tum feel a bit better :-\ I burned around 460 cals, boo YA! 😉

I knew I didn’t want anything heavy for breakfast, so I grabbed the two things that sounded most appealing to me,

A Carrot Cake Clif Bar and a Plain Chobani, complete with agua and a multi-vitamin (I take one daily!)

carrot cake clif barchobani plain 2

Yum!  It hit the spot.

After getting ready and such, my Mom, brother and I headed off to do some earrands…printing digital photos, returning my brother’s prom tux, and hitting up the Christmas Tree Shop! Has anyone ever been to one of these?? They are so awesome…and they have a little of everything, including food!  My favorite part of course 😉

I snagged some Peanut Butter & Co. PB there for $2.99 a jar!  That’s QUITE a bargain, and I got Mighty Maple (my love!) along with another Cinnamon Raisin, so when I move back home next week…they’ll be waiting for me! 😉

I also picked up some Light Laughing Cow spread, a box of Vanilla Chai Tea and Decaf French Vanilla Tea (also both on sale for $2.19 a box!), some Chapstick, makeup sponges etc.  All in all, a very nice trip! 🙂

We stopped at an Arby’s on the way home.  Now, I haven’t had Arby’s in about 5 years, and I’m not too keen on fast food (unless it’s Subway or Quiznos).  BUT my brother and mama both wanted some, and sometimes you just have to take one for the team, ya know?  They do a pretty nice job of always been respectful and courteous of my “healthy eating” so I figured I’d find something and it would be a kind of fun challenge to see what I could put together!

What I was lusting after was most definitely some curly fries with honey mustard and ketchup (mmm) but I knew better (especially after yesterday!) so I got this instead:

arbys turkeyside salad arbys

We have here a Markey Fresh Turkey and Swiss sandwich.  It included turkey, a slice of swiss, lettuce, tomato, and red onion.  It was also supposed to come with spicy mustard (EW EW EW…I can’t STAND any mustard except honey mustard sometimes.  Bleh.) and mayo, so I asked for them to hold both.  It came on a doughy bread that wasn’t white bread, but probably wasn’t too great for you either.  Imitation whole grain I’m assuming.  I wound up taking the top two pieces of each side, and about 1/2 of the turkey off (too much, it was too thick) and adding a few droplets of Ken’s Honey Mustard to each side.  On the side, instead of the beloved curly fries, I got a side salad…it was pretty standard..iceberg lettuce, tomato, onion, and shredded cheese w/a couple droplets Balsamic dressing.  Overall, I feel I did well with this meal given the circumstances, and I felt full, but not stuffed.  I also had some Diet Pepsi with this, which I feel I’ve been having a bit too much lately.  Diet soda, after drinking it A LOT last summer, makes my stomach VERY bubbly feeling, and sometimes gives me acid reflux.  So I’ve cut waaaaaaaay back, as well as cutting it completely for Lent.  I”ve had a lot recently though, and I’m sure that’s not helping my tum feel any better 😦  Gotta quit it!

Not sure what’s on the agenda for dinner…I’d be fine with some oats of a bowl of Kashi Heart to Heart, to be honest.  But we shall see what Mama has in store!  Tomorrow my bro and I are taking her to a diner (her choice) for brunch, and then I’m taking her to see a girly movie (I think Ghosts of Girlfriends Past) later in the day. 🙂

Do you all have anything special you do for your Mom on Mother’s Day?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    May 09, 2009 @ 17:49:10

    I make my Mom all of her favorite food. She always says she doesn’t want gifts but I still give them to her 😉

    Glad you had a great day!! Any day with Chobani gets a star in my book!

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    May 09, 2009 @ 18:21:39

    SCORE on the PB! I am going to scout out grocery stores for that! LOL!!!

    Reply

  3. Meredith
    May 09, 2009 @ 21:07:42

    That’s a great deal on the PB!

    Reply

  4. janetha
    May 09, 2009 @ 21:26:29

    dannng that is some cheap nut butter. i am still in search of the oh so mighty maple. never heard of a christmas tree store..

    you did well at arby’s! i hate having to improv at fast food joints. looks like you fared well though.

    sometimes a good food hangover is all you need to remind yourself why eating clean is where it’s at!

    have a fun mothers day!

    Reply

  5. Emily
    May 09, 2009 @ 22:29:22

    Gotta love a deal! 😀

    I am going to attempt to bake cake….?! haha

    I have been wanting to see that movie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

