Hello From…

HOME! That’s right, I made a surprise visit home this weekend!  I wanted to tell you all, but I wasn’t sure if my Mom would read the blog or not, so I didn’t want to risk ruining the surprise!  I decided a few weeks ago (as I have some time off before my one final and graduation) to come home this weekend as a surprise for Mother’s Day, which is on Sunday (in case anyone forgot, there’s your reminder!! 🙂 )

Today’s eats started out pretty healthy…then promptly went downhill haha.

My camera’s batteries died, so these are all camera phone pics…sadly, I think they’re better than my camera ones 😛

I was up insanely early again, and went for a 4.25 mile walk around campus.  Afterwards, I hit up my apartment gym for 30 minutes of hardcore (levels 12 & 13) ellipticaling (made that word up!)

Total Calories Burned:  500 (est.)

Breakfast was a bit different today…a breakfast sandwich!

breakfast sandwichup close breakfast sandwich

Mmm. The “sandwich” included:

2 egg whites

Sprinkle Italian seasoning

1 Light Laughing Cow

Tiny smidge avocado

Gardenburger

Squirt ketchup

All on a Thomas’ Light English Muffin!

On the side was a little leftover egg that didn’t fit on the sandwich.  It was really good and quite filling!

I got on the road to head home around noon, not knowing what I was really going to do for lunch.  As soon as I got home, I hit up Stop & Shop for Chobanis and Whipped Cottage Cheese!!! We don’t have Stop & Shops by my college so I hit it up whenever I got home!  I also picked up some Lunas and a Carrot Cake Clif Bar! 😀

My brother actually called while I was there, and starving, and asked if I wanted to get some lunch!  So I met him at Subway, and (needing some protein) I got a footlong turkey sub on honey oat bread with tons of veggies and fat-free sweet onion dressing with Oregano.

subway turkey

I had apple slices and a Diet Pepsi on the side…I ate it all and then I was stuffed 😦

After surprising my Mom with my visit, we went to take my brother to pick up his date and take pictures (tonight’s his prom awwwww).  I was so glad I got to be there…being at college, I often miss these milestones 😦

When my Mom suggested dinner & drinks at TGIFridays, I was all over that 😉

I got one of these

margarita

Ahhh!!! 😉

And a Mediterranean Chicken Salad (ate most, no olives yuck.  Few dips into the dressing, and left some chicken behind)

salad

And then ruined it completely with a side of these

Sweet Potato Fries

Sweet Potato Fries

Totally crispy and delicious..I ate more than my fair share of these

After being ridiculously stuffed at Fridays, we started heading home…when I had a brilliant (depending on how you view it) idea of stopping for take-out cheesecake at my favorite diner.  They have a specialty Oreo Cheesecake that I’m in love with, and it’s seriously dangerous having it so close to my house.  Of course we stopped, and of course I ordered a BIG piece to go..and I’m consuming it as we speak.  I feel very gluttonous tonight, but I’m being honest and telling you.  Today was definitely an overindulgence kind of day.  While I don’t exactly regret it, I do wish I’d made some healthier choices that I KNEW were right.  Sigh.  You guys have these days too right?

Now I’m realaxing with my Mom and my pup and the TV…bliss.

Have a good night everyone, enjoy your weekend!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. psychoj1
    May 08, 2009 @ 22:18:17

    Girl, everyone has those days!! It’s nothing to feel guilty about 🙂 Sweet potato fries? YUM! Great workout+breakfast!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  2. janetha
    May 09, 2009 @ 02:42:01

    awe fun, i bet your mom was stoked on the surprise visit! and it is good to indulge once in awhile, it is a special occasion, right?! have a great weekend with your fam 🙂

    Reply

  3. ksgoodeats
    May 09, 2009 @ 09:33:30

    Aw what a sweet surprise!! I had no idea they had SP fries at Fridays! Enjoy your time at home 🙂

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    May 09, 2009 @ 11:00:19

    AWWHHH awesome surprise! And mmm sweet potato fries wins all!

    Reply

  5. luckytastebuds
    May 09, 2009 @ 19:49:02

    Mmmmm i love all your food choices today!! I also love sweet potato fries, which i had some for dinner at a bar last night! hahahah great minds think alike…those i had a burger instead of a salad…veggie burger that is…that makes it better right???

    Thanks so for sharing your fave flavor of pb factory!! I always wondered which one i should try first!! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

