Oh Mr. Sun, Sun, Mr. Golden Sun

Anyone else ever sing that song when they were younger?  We used to sing it in pre-school 🙂

It has been a beautiful week here!  We’ve had great temperatures (60s!) and it’s been sunny everyday.  So what happens as soon as the weekend hits?  It gets cloudy and drizzly of course! 😛  Boo! But I’m going to count my blessings that we had some great weather all week instead of being pessimistic about it!

I’ve been a busy bee, so I have lots to catch you up on!  Well, a lot of food anyway!

I left off Thursday afternoon with a light lunch I do believe!

After lunch, I went on a long campus walk (about 3 miles) with my roomie, K. It was nice!

After the walk, I grabbed a little snackie…some Optimum Cereal (can’t remember which exactly…but it has cranberries and stuff in it!) with skim

dcfc0499Tasty!

Instead of the schoolwork I should have been working on, I chose to do some baking! 🙂  I made Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies with a recipe I found online!  If you’re interested in the link, let me know!

They came out great, and pretty healthy too!

dcfc0500

So yummy!  Tiny and funny shaped, but delicious!

I did work on some schoolwork in the afternoon, and never really got hungry for dinner (as some of these cookies were consumed naturally!)  but I knew I should eat some real food at some point…so I whipped up a little of this

dcfc0501

Whole Wheat Annie’s Pasta Alfredo! It was mucho yum!  I had mine with some frozen peas mixed in and some fresh parm on top!

dcfc0502

The rest of the evening was spent relaxing and watching TV with A 😉

Friday morning A and I got up nice and early (my choice, not really his 😛 oops 😉 ) for a workout!  We took a stroll to our on campus gym, I did some elliptical for about a half hour, then we continued the rest of the 3 mile campus loop, walking and chatting! 🙂

It felt great!  Before the workout, I had 1/2 of this bar

dcfc0504

It was my first time trying a Pure Bar and I chose the ChocoChip Trailmix flavor.  It was tasty!  Chewier than a Larabar (but not overly sticky or anything) and thinner, but still tasty!  I’m more of a Luna and Kashi fan but this wasn’t bad.  A little calorie dense for my taste, but I’m glad I got to see what all the hype is about regarding these bars!

After my workout, I whipped up a quick recovery smoothie.

1 cup plain non-fat yogurt

Splash skim mik

1/2 tbsp flax

Large handful spinach

Bunch of sliced strawberries

1/2 sliced banana

Alongside this I ate the other half of my Pure bar from earlier.

I was supposed to go get my oil changed, so I was in a bit of a rush, however when I got there, the times had been mixed up and they didn’t have time to take me just then 😦 Kind of an annoyance, but I decided to put it off until next week.  I really need an oil change, so there’s no putting it off after that!  Yesterday was the nicest day, weather wise, that we had all week!  So A and I decided to go on a picnic that we’ve been wanting to have for quite some time!  We decided to make it a sushi picnic, as we’ve both been on a sushi kick lately.  We ran to the supermarket, picked up flavored waters and veggie chips, and ordered sushi.  I didn’t snap a pic, but I got the same thing I had earlier in the week, so I’ll recycle

dcfc04941

We also split a spicy yellowtail roll before this 🙂  We layed out in the sushine for about an hour and a half enjoying views like these

dcfc0507dcfc0508

Such a pretty view!

After our picnic, we just lounged around the apartment for the afternoon.  I was exhausted, and wanted to nap but just couldn’t 😦 Doesn’t it suck when that happens??

Dinner was a salad I had made while at the grocery store (they have an awesome salad bar!) earlier.

dcfc0520

The salad had:

Spinach

Romaine lettuce

Edamame

Chickpeas

Dried cranberries

Cherry tomatoes

Cucumbers

Sliced green peppers

Couple cubes of cheese

2 slices pineapple, and one slice melon

Pine nuts

Shredded carrots

Couple slices deli honey turkey (haven’t had it since before Lent, and I’ve been craving it like crazy!)

No dressing

Very filling!

I ate it with a La Tortilla Factory whole wheat wrap, but between the fiber (12g!) from the wrap and all those veggies in my salad…I felt kind of uncomfortable for awhile afterwards 😦

I snacked on some FroYo Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia also in the evening.  Around 9:30pm, A and I set out for a surprise party for one of his friends.  We stayed for a couple hours, I had one drink, and it was a lot of fun! 🙂

I came home late, had a few of my cookies and a few bites of leftover mac & cheese. 😦 Thumbs down for mindless snacking.

This morning, despite my late night, I got up around 8 am (sleeping in for me!) and decided to take advantage of the sunny morning (supposed to rain all day) so I went for a solo walk around campus (3 mi.) with my iPod! 🙂 Refreshing!

I had 1/2 a banana before my walk.

After a shower, I made myself a nice bowl of oat bran!  It’s been awhile!  Been big on the breakfast cookies instead lately!

The mix:

1/3 cup oat bran

Some milk for liquid (I never really measure the liquid, but I used a little extra today for creaminess)

1/2 smashed banana

Scoop pumpkin

Cinnamon

1/2 sprinkle flax

1.5 tbsp Maple PB and a smidge of Adirondack Jack PB/AB…it’s towards the bottom of the jars, so they’re both getting a little dry.  I kinda like it though!

dcfc0521

It came out so creamy this morning…score!  Just what I was going for with this bowl!

Whew!  Now that we’re all caught up with daily eats…

I have so fun tidbits to share with you all!

1. I won the Fitnessista’s Stonyfield giveaway contest! YAY!  I’m so excited to get the prize back!  A big thanks to Gina and Stonyfield Farms for sponsering the contest!

2. I found White Chocolate Macadamia Clifs and Lunas at my local grocery store!! It’s about time!  Very exciting!

3. The winner of my Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Loaf for Meghann’s Blogger Bake Sale,  received it in the mail yesterday!  YAY!  It arrived in one piece, and I’m very happy about that!  Enjoy!

4. I ordered some Mix My Granola after seeing it on so many blogs lately!  I was able to use a promotional code from a blog, and scored $3 off my order!  Altogether it was only $10, and that’s with shipping!  YAY!

dcfc0506

My Mix included:

Low-Fat Granola

Dried Cranberries

Dried Blueberries

Roasted Almonds

Peanut M&Ms (yeah baby!!)

YUM! I’ve had several handfuls over the past 2 days and although they’re pretty skimpy on the M&Ms, I kind of expected that, and otherwise, I have no complaints!  This is an awesome tool for mixing your own granola.  There is such a wide variety of nuts and seeds, dried fruits, and fun mix-ins that you can’t really go wrong!  I encourage you guys to try it out!  If you type in the code THANKS3OFF at checkout, you too will recieve $3 off your order!  Get mixing folks!

I’m heading, (hopefully, pending the weather!) to A’s block party this afternoon.  Apparently last year things got pretty crazy (think:  hundreds of college students, a building burning down, cops etc) so we’ll see what this year has in store!  Tonight I may/may not be going dancing (woo hoo!) also pending the weather!  I hope we go though, I’m ready to get my groove on!  Tomorrow is a declared HW/studying day 😦 Blah.

Well that’s all for now bloggies!  I’ve definitely been keeping up on your blogs, and I’m loving all the great posts!  Reading is a highlight of my day! 😀

Later!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 13:14:05

    Oh we most definitely sang that song!! Woohoo for WCMN Clifs 🙂

    Have fun today!!

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 14:05:37

    I’ve got some granola coming my way! 😀 Can’t wait!
    I love that Annie’s MacNCheese!

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 16:58:06

    Yea…It’s HILARIOUS! It has some language, but if that doesnt bother you, it is freaking hilarious! lol

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 18:40:04

    I need to try to find those new Optimum cereals!
    And oh, what a great mix for the granola!

    Reply

  5. Gliding Calm
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 20:50:34

    thank you for your sweet sweet comment on my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

