Livin’ and Lovin’

Hey all, Happy Thursday!

It’s almost weekend time ladies (and gentleman?), who’s excited!?

Early early wake-up call this morning…6:15, eeep!  I headed back to my apartment from A’s and started getting ready for my early classes and pulled this beauty out of the fridge

dcfc0496

B-Fast Cookie!! I still can’t believe that I’ve JUST discovered this things within the last few weeks.  I’ve read about them (a la Fitnessista!) and seen them making debuts all over the blog world, but yet hadn’t tried one!  Now, especially on warmer mornings (which are rare, but still!) a breakfast cookie is so much more appealing than traditional oats/oat bran!  Only downside?  Having to be “in the mood” for one the night before!  Good thing I almost always am!

This was mostly a usual b-fast cookie for me, but with a few slight changes:

1/2 cup oats (gotta power me through 4 hours of class!)

1/2 ‘nana

1/2 tbsp Maple PB

1/4 cup skim milk

1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

Cinnamon

1/2 tbsp flax seed

Big dollop of pumpkin!

This morning I added another 1/2 tbsp of Mighty Maple love on top!  Delish as usual!  I was craving something to drink with my cookie this morning, but not anything warm like my usual tea so what hit the spot?  The traditional cookies ‘n milk of course!  I had a cup of skim milk on the side (for taste and extra protein!). Yum!

The pumpkin was actually a great addition!  I have a lot leftover from making my Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Loaf and I knew I needed to use it up.  I used to make pumpkin oats almost everyday (before the Oat Bran revelation!) and they were delicious and SO voluminous, which is key for me to be satisfied with a bowl of oats.  The pumpkin did the same thing with the breakfast cookie!  I had kinda forgot the volumizing effect of the pumpkin, but it worked exactly the same way!  It made my cookie so much bigger, and therefore more tasty to eat (I like volume in my eats)!  It didn’t really affect the taste much either, as I only used about 1/4 cup, and the chocolate-ness of the protein powder overpowered it.  Awesome!  Definitely going to be doing this more often!

After 4 lovely (haha) hours of classes, it’s officially my weekend!  No work and no classes on Fridays!  Woop!

Sadly, I still have lots of schoolwork to do, but I have some fun things planned for this weekend so it’s all good 😉

I had an apple during my last class (around noon) to tide me over for lunch.

Lunch was:

2 microwaved egg whites (I’m addicted!) with a handful of spinach and Italian seasoning

A BUNCH of fresh strawberries

About 1/3 of a large cucumber, sliced

The last hunk of the fabulous multi-grain bread I found last weekend!  About 1/2 tsp of Smart Balance on a piece of it

Big ol glass of agua!

dcfc04971

dcfc0498

I’ll most likely have a snack later this afternoon, as this wasn’t a very calorie-heavy lunch.  I plan on going for a long campus walk with the roomie in a bit, so I’ll probably have a mini yogurt bowl or a bar when I return! 🙂

Later gators!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kara
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 17:24:49

    OK, you’ve got me. I’m making a breakfast cookie TONIGHT!!

    Reply

  2. ksgoodeats
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 18:37:36

    You better believe I’m excited for the weekend 🙂

    Tasty breakfast cookie and egg whites!! Hope you had a great day!

    Reply

  3. Haleigh
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 19:09:21

    Mmm.. Breakfast cookie!!

    Reply

  4. Meredith
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 19:33:46

    I’m so excited for the weekend! Even though I’m going to spend it studying (3 finals next week! eeep!) it will be nice not to have to wake up to an alarm 🙂

    Reply

  5. Susan
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 19:52:35

    Ooh, I like the idea of putting half the nut butter on top of the cookie! Nothing better than having dessert for breakfast 😉

    Reply

  6. Sharon
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 20:13:18

    I love the traditional cookies and milk. =D

    Reply

  7. dailygoods
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 11:00:34

    yummayyy breakfast cookies are the best! they really help me power through the day!

    Reply

  8. Meghann
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 11:53:00

    I really need to branch out and try pumpkin in my breakfast cookies 🙂

    Reply

  9. Emily
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 17:43:03

    I can’t wait to get back home to my kitchen and make a breakfast cookie again! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

