R&R

Greetings from the world of Spring Break!

This break was MUCH needed, and I have been throughly enjoying every minute of it!

Do I have work to do?  Yes.

Have I done any yet?  Nope. 😉

I’ll try to backtrack as much as I can and remember what’s been up with me the past two days!!

I got home late Tuesday evening, was starving (and therefor ate some cinnamon almonds), chatted with my brother for a bit, then A and I went to sleep!

Yesterday I got up around 8, headed to the gym (have a membership at a place back home…gotta cover all the bases haha!) and did 45 minutes on the elliptical, and an ab circuit (about 5 machines) that feels so awesome and painful today haha 🙂 Love that feeling!  Not sure on the calorie burn, as I forgot my HRM!

After a quick shower, I had a small-ish breakfast because I knew A and I were having an early lunch!

The after shot (I was hungry!!)

dcfc04741

Chocolate Chip Clif Bar (love this flavor!) and an apple!

We did a lil grocery shopping for my mom, and then headed over to Quiznos for an early lunch.  I realized that there weren’t too many optioins for a vegetarian, so I made do!  I got the Roasted Chicken Honey Mustard Salad, sans chiciken or bacon..so basically lettuce, onion, pickles (I added them), tomato and swiss cheese shreds.  On the side I fork-dipped into both Honey Mustard and a Ranch type of dressing.  It also came with this TASTY flatbread (basically why I get their salad!) and I got a side of Baked BBQ Lays!

dcfc04752

Yum.

After lunch, we went and saw the movie Adventureland!  It was really cute, I liked it a lot!  We also got the matinee price which was sweet 😉

In the evening we hung out with my Mom and brother, and she fixed us quesadilla’s for dinner!  I started dinner with this

dcfc04761

The first beer ever that I’ve liked! I can’t stand beer, so this was a monumental evening for me 😉  It was a Michelob Ultra Cactus Lime, in case anyone was wondering.  And yes, that is A holding it for me 🙂

My quesadilla included:

Vegetarian refried beans

Roasted onions and peppers

Corn and broccoli

Sprinkle of Mexican Blend Cheese

On the side, I dipped it in Salsa, a dollop of Sour Cream, some extra refried beans, and some extra veggies.  I had it all in a La Tortilla Whole Wheat Wrap-a roo.

dcfc04771

I ate most of it…very filling!

Last night, some friends of mine stopped by…at let’s just say, we had an ice cream bar set up!  We had homemade brownies, cupcakes, 3 kinds of ice cream, hot fudge, whipped cream, and sprinkles set out!

I made a sundae to enjoy and it was delicious…probably too much, but totally worth it! 🙂

This morning, I opted to skip the gym (it is my spring break after all and I haven’t had a rest day in awhile).  I had a nice bowl of oats this morning!

dcfc04781

1/3 cup Quaker Quick Oats, microwaved (SO much chewier than store brand…hmm…)

1/3 plus a little skim milk

1 banana, sliced

Sprinkle of cinn

A packet of…BARNEY BUTTER!!! That’s right, my 2 samples came in the mail!  I was eager to try them in my oats, so I used one 90-calorie BB this morning.

The verdict?  It was…almondy! haha.  I wasn’t sure what I was expecting, but maybe because it looked a lot more like PB than most almond butters, that I thought it would have more of a PB taste?  It didn’t!  It was nutty and delicious, and it definitely grew on me!  Will I be buying myself a jar?  Nah, but I’ll enjoy my other sample and that will be that! 🙂  Wish I had been able to try the chunky version though, maybe I’d like that more? 🙂  But a big thank you to the makers for sending me samples!! Gracias!

I had a haircut (woo hoo!) appointment this morning, and lunch was kinda nonexistent today.  You see, I’m spending Easter (for the first time!) not at home, but with A and his family this Sunday.  So my mom, brother, A and I are celebrating “Easter” today at my house 🙂

Tonight for dinner, there is some delicious food on the menu!

Baked Ziti (my mom’s…absolute favorite food in the world!)

Green bean casserole (brother’s request)

Grilled asparagus (!!)

Pork roast (not for me LOL)

Mashed potatoes

Dinner rolls

Ensalada (mmm)

And no-bake cheesecake for dessert! (one of my other funny favorite things haha)

AND My mom just gave Me, my bro, and A Easter Baskets!!  Cadbury Cream Eggs, Chunky PB Smidges, Big Milk Chocolate Cadbury Egg, Reeses Pieces Egg, a box of Dark Chocolate Coconut Kashi Bars (haha my mom knows me well!) and a cool T-Shirt from Target!! I love my Mom, she’s my best friend and awesome!! 😀

There will definitely be a lot of indulging tonight (it’s my holiday, and I’m all for it!) so “lunch” was a pear and a La Tortilla Whole Wheat White Wrap, eaten by itself.  And a bunch of M&Ms and candy, naturally.  😉  I don’t believe in restriction on holidays!

What’s everyone else been up to lately?  I’m still reading all your blogs, but may not be commenting as much!  I’ll be back, don’t worry!  Dunno when I’ll get the chance to post again, seeing as I leave for A’s family’s house tomorrow afternoon and am there until Monday, when we head back to school.  But a trip to Candle is planned for Saturday in NYC, and I can’t WAIT to try it!

Happy Almost-Weekend and “My Easter” everyone!

🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. peanutbutterandjuli
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 15:42:51

    Speaking of treats in the mail… have you still not gotten anything from a certain someone? (i.e. ME)

    Reply

  2. sarahdbelle
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 16:26:06

    Wow! You are having such an awesome meal tonight! Hope you enjoy it.
    Your mom sounds so, so sweet. I love Easter baskets ; )
    Enjoy your Easter!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 16:50:17

    Chocolate Chip Clif Bars are one of my faves!

    Yay for an Easter basket! I am waiting for one from my mom! (Gotta love moms!) 🙂

    Happy Easter!

    Reply

  4. ksgoodeats
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 17:23:58

    I live for the chunky Barney Butter! It’s delish!! Have you ever tried Blue Moon? I don’t like beer that much but I’d drink that any day! Enjoy your break 🙂

    Reply

  5. Kara
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 18:50:44

    OK I hate beer, too. Like all kinds, no matter what. And my boyfriend keeps trying to get me to try more. So maybe I’ll give in and try that, since if you like it, I’ll probably like it, too 🙂

    Reply

  6. Meredith
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 19:28:07

    So crazy that you’re just having spring break now and I’m already taking finals! I think schools up north get to enjoy a longer winter break than we do so your semesters start later. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Sharon
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 22:22:43

    OOOOHHH hoorray for Spring Break! And oh wow, I need to try Barney Butter!

    Reply

  8. runsarah
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 02:44:02

    Just stopping by your blog! I don’t like beer either, I’ll have to try that one…it looks surprisingly good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

