Right Around the Corner

Good evening bloggies, welcome to yet another Sunday night. Boo ya.  Not exactly the high point of the week for most, I’m assuming.  I actually don’t mind Sunday nights too much…I enjoyed my weekends, don’t get me wrong, but getting myself back on a schedule (for healthier eating, sleeping, work/class etc.) is never a bad thing.

So, how were your weekends everyone?

Mine was fun, I probably had a little more “fun” than I would have liked to last night…I tell myself one thing at the start of the night, and by the end I had drank and eaten more than I care to consider much :-\

I actually didn’t drink or eat too much, but I feel I overdid it, and I really kinda did so…carpe diem I guess? 😛

Kinda disappointed in myself.

Onto last night’s eats and such.

Yesterday afternoon, before the concert, I knew I should eat something to hold me over for the 3-4 hour concert.  We weren’t allowed to bring in food or drink so I knew that was that.

I ate some whipped cottage cheese, a smidge of granola, and 1/2 Berry Almond Luna Bar.  Now, I love Luna’s, and haven’t encountered one that I just didn’t like, but I have to say…this one took the cake.  It was SUPER sticky, and while it tasted just okay, it wasn’t fantastic by any means.  I won’t be buying that one again!

The concert was a lot of fun!  We actually go to sit which was nice, as standing for four hours woulda been a little rough.  They didn’t let you bring food in, but there was a concession stand (to eat your money, of course!) and halfway through the show, A came back with a big pretzel and a Sprite.  Now, I’ve given up soda (I only drink diet to begin with) for Lent, but I was very thirsty, and had a couple sips and about 1/2 of the pretzel.  At this point, I had been ready to gnaw my arm off, so I was very grateful 🙂  It held me over until the concert was finished!

After the concert, we picked up my roomie, K, and headed downtown to A‘s apartment to get ready to go out for the night.  This is where things, as they usually inevitably do for me, fell apart a little bit.  K and I split a drink (which was really equlivalent to one of my own) and I had another before we left.  I was hungry at this point and had a S’mores Luna Bar and part of a whole wheat rye wrap I had packed, and that seemed to do it.

We set up downtown and danced for awhile, then switched locations and just hung out.  I had one more drink.  There was some drama in the evening, and I was kinda grumpy because of it 😦 Boooo.

We traveled back to A’s apartment and got there at around 3 am.  Eeesh.

I was okay to drive at this point and I drove my roomie and A and myself back to my apartment…but of course, we were all hungry (as it had been hours and hours since a real meal) and we found a 24-hour drive thru McDonalds.  I haven’t had McDs in…well, I don’t even know how long, but I was hungry and nothing was open and nothing in my kitchen sounded all that appealing.  I got a small fry (LOVE McDs fries, but I steer clear usually!) and enjoyed every greasy, fried, delicious moment eating them.  I ended the night at around 4 am with a few mini spoonfuls of Adirondack Jack Peanut Butter 😛

All in all, it was an indulgent night, I woke up dehydrated and exhausted at 8am, I feel I’ve paid for it 😛

This morning, as I said, started bright and hideously early at 8am. Blehh.

I crawled outta bed, chugged a bunch of water, and did some blog reading/TV watching for two hours while everyone slept.  (I’ve forever an early bird, no matter what!)

Around 10 am I was getting hungry and made myself the usual oats/oat bran bowl of delight.

dcfc0477

Yum, as usual.  That, coupled with a mug of hot tea, settled my tum for the time being.

I lounged around for a bit, then A, my roomie, and I went for an hour long walk around campus.  It was cold and windy, but it was still very refreshing.  Just what I needed…some movement! 🙂

After showering, I was feeling a bit empty so I made up some lunch

dcfc0478

2 microwaved egg whites with a handful of spinach, italian seasonings, and a squirt of ketchup

dcfc0479

Finished off the container…about a cup’s worth…with a sprinkle of Bear Naked on top

dcfc0480

I curled up with my notebook and pen to write up review sheets for a huge test I have on Tuesday morning, but didn’t get very far when my eyes started to close…

…and I proceeded to take a 2 hour nap.  Which left me very rested, and actually fueled me to finish my work up and stay awake to make this lovely for dinner…

dcfc0481

What’s this, you ask?  Why, it’s polenta!

I’ve never tried polenta before, but I’m always intrigued by the logs of it I see on the shelf at the grocery store.  So I picked up a log last week, Sundried Tomato Garlic flavor, and decided tonight was the night to whip it up!

I found a simple recipe online for Polenta Marinara, and cut the log into slices, cooked them in the frying pan (in cooking spray only) for about 4-5 minutes on each side, until golden brown and crispy.

I spread the polenta into a baking dish, also sprayed to keep from sticking, and then poured 1.5 cups of marinara sauce on top.  I then cut up wedges of Part-Skim Mozzerella Cheese (I usually buy the shredded, this was sooooooo good and worth it!) and placed them on top.  I seasoned with Italian Seasonings and Garlic Powder, and baked in the over for about 20 minutes.  It came out so. good.

dcfc0482

I probably ate a lot more mozzerella than I needed, but I LOVE that kind of cheese!

I served myself up this serving (plus another 1/2 size portion…too much though, I felt uncomfortably full afterward) along with a stray slice of wheat break on it’s last legs, and a spinach and green pepper salad with balsamic vinegar.  I sprinkled the casserole with parm cheese.  It was tasty!  Crispy, but soft, tasty, but not overpowering.  It was truly great and SO easy!  Polenta is so versatile, so I suggest giving it a try in your favorite type of dish!

dcfc0483

Up close!

Like I said, I finished up my schoolwork, and ate a few bites of a piece of A’s cheesecake that I had in the freezer from my trip to Rhode Island. 😉  Delicious, I love cheesecake!

SO, all in all, it was quite an indulgent weekend, and I’m really not all that happy with myself.  I made smart decisions during the day, but once the night hits…or we go out on the weekends..my resolve disappears and I need to work on that.  Usually I’m pretty good about it, but some nights I just wanna let loose, and it’s so hard sometimes to find a decent balance.  I guess we all have things we need to work on, right?  This is definitely mine.

On a much happier note! My spring break starts on Wednesday!  Right around the corner!  A and I are traveling to my hometown late Tuesday night and spending a few days at home with my Mama and brother!  I can’t WAIT to see them!  My mom is one of my best friends and I haven’t seen her in over a month!  I miss her so much! 😀

Then Friday morning, A and I are driving another few hours away to spend Easter (can you believe it’s a week from today!?) with his family.  It’s my first Easter not spent with my family, but my Mom is cool with it, and it’s a fun and important step, and I’m very much looking forward to it 🙂 I like A’s family a lot!

My spring break is sadly only from Wednesday-next Monday, and classes start again Tuesday.  Boo for short vacations!  Although, I should be happy I’m getting any vacation, as this time next year I’ll be out in the work world (along with grad school) so there will be no “breaks.”  I am quite the blessed girl, and I know it, so I am grateful for any day off!

We have some fun plans to visit NYC over the break and I will be eating lunch at Candle!!! For those of you that don’t know that is..it’s a vegan restaurant that several fellow bloggers have raved about, and I can’t wait to go!!  A’s being a wonderful boyfriend, and going with me 🙂

I’ll make sure to give you all a full recap, of course!

Okay, Congrats if you got through this mondo post!  I better get going, catch ya’ll lataaaaaaaa 😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 22:02:42

    HOORRAAAYY for upcoming Spring Break!!!!

    Reply

  2. ksgoodeats
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 08:22:11

    I really need to try polenta! It sounds amazing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

