Cookies and Agave

Happy Saturday Blogworld! What are you all up to this fine weekend?

After a low-key and rainy (but still fun!) day yesterday, today is a bit more packed!

After not stopping at the store yesterday I was…out of bananas!!! OH NO!  Normally, this wouldn’t be a huge tragedy as I’m not a huge banana fan, but I do love naners in my oats and in yogurt bowls! So..what to eat for breakfast if I don’t bananas or pumpkin for oats!?  The solution?  A breakfast cookie, Fitnessista inspired!  Sadly, my picture is saved elsewhere and I can’t get to it, but here’s a description!

I used 1/3 cups oats

1 tbsp Saratoga Maple PB

1/2 scoop Muscle Milk Protein Powder in chocolate flavor

1/8 cup, plus a splash of skim milk to hold it all together

I mixed these ingredients together and then added

A sprinkle of both cinn and flax

Couple sliced strawberries

I popped it on a small plate to sit in the fridge overnight…it was actually quite small so I was a bit skeptical at it’s staying power.

This morning (after gloriously sleeping in on and off until 8:45 am…NEVER happens!) I popped that baby outta the fridge and wah-la!  It was AMAZING, I totally understand the hype now!

It was very dense due to it’s size and actually quite filling!  Not as mentally satisfying as a bowl of hot oats, but my tum was tricked!  It actually took me quite awhile to eat it and I really loved it.  Maybe next time I’ll up the oats to 1/2 cup and we’ll see how that goes.  Oh and on top I added a drizzle of SF maple syrup and a small dollop of vanilla yogurt.  On the side, I was craving a big glass of skim milk, so that’s what I had! Superb!  I highly recommend.

This afternoon I finally made it to Wal-Mart!  That place is really wonderful…I always forget how cheap everything is there!  The one I go to is actually a Super Wal-Mart so it has great food and produce too!  I am always a bit leery of buying produce at Wal-Mart, but the selection and prices there was top notch!  I picked up a new find that I tried a bit of and immediately fell in love with

dcfc04751

Bear Naked Granola in Mango Agave Almond!

Wal-Mart definitely has cheaper cereals/granolas than other places and this was no exception!  It was $3.86, which I think is a steal for this brand!

I opened it up and it’s sooo tasty!  The alomond’s are coated in agave, giving them a sweet, almost mapley tasty…and the mango chunks are fun! Try it!

For lunch today I finished up the other half of yesterday’s veggie sub from Subway, this time I snapped a piccy

dcfc0476

Same combo as yesterday obviously, but not as tasty 😦 Subs are one thing that don’t really hold up as well overnight.  Tear.  I ate in anyway, of course 😉

Tonight A and I and a few of our friends are going to an on-campus concert that our school is providing for only $10!  Let’s just say, there are some pretty big names coming! Should be a good time!

Later I’m heading out to a new (well, new to me) bar/club for hopefully some drinks and dancing with friends!  I’m gonna miss college life 😦

Catch ya’ll on the flip side! (Yeah I said it haha)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 14:41:29

    $3.86 is definitely a steal for that granola!!! I don’t even think the cheapest boxes of granola are that low at my grocery store. Perhaps I should check out Walmart too…

    Have you ever tried leftover nachos? My roommate doggie bags them all the time and they get so gross overnight. Have a great time tonight!!

    Reply

  2. ksgoodeats
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 16:32:21

    I’m kind of weird…I think that Subway’s subs get better when left in the fridge over night! Haha, I know – I told you I’m weird 🙂

    Have a blast tonight!

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 19:34:10

    Ohhh have fun tonight!

    That granola looks amazing! I have never seen it before either; but will definitely be on the lookout now!

    Reply

  4. ttfn300
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 15:38:53

    that granola sounds awesome, and what a steal 🙂

    Reply

  5. cleanveggiex3
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 17:42:32

    LOVEEE Subway 🙂 sorry the sub wasn’t as good today.
    have fun tonight!

    Reply

  6. Sharon
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 20:23:18

    Yeah, I find that they get soggy or something. LOL. oh well.

    Have a blast tonight!
    And whoooooaaa, I never knew they had that granola!! I wants!

    Reply

  7. peanutbutterandjuli
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 23:58:55

    I heart you, that is all 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

