Fresh Produce = True Love

Good afternoon bloggers, how’s life? 🙂

It has been b-e-a-utiful weather today here!  I’m so happy, it’s about time!

Today was a busy and long day, but I’ll backtrack to last night’s eats

dcfc0473

What we have here is a scrumptious salad from my supermarket’s awesome salad bar!  I decided to treat myself to it yesterday…perfect end to a Monday!  It included:

A base of spinach and romaine

Pineapple chuncks

Green and red pepper slices

Cukes

Grape tomatoes

Shredded carrot

1 cube cheese

Dried cranberries

I added 1/2 servings (6 strips) of Morningstar Farms Chik’n strips, grilled on the stove.  I also added 1 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar and 1 tbsp Ken’s Light Peppercorn Ranch (on the side for dipping). Delish! Up close

dcfc0474

On the side I had a slice from the multigrain loaf I got yesterday with 1/2 Light Laughing Cow (last one, tear!) spread on top.

Dessert last night was a single Dark Chocolate Truffle from Valentine’s Day, that I keep in the back of my freezer 😉

This morning I got up bright and early for an hour long walk around campus (my exercise for the day).  I burned around 200 calories 🙂

After showering and such, I whipped up my usual for breakie

dcfc0475

1/4 cup oats

1/4 cup oat bran

About a half cup skim milk, and a splash of agua

Sprinkle Cinnamon

1 banana, smashed

1/2 tbsp flax

1 tbsp Maple Peanut Butter

Wonderful as usual, and held me until about noon for my snack of a couple fresh strawberries mmm.

Lunch, as usual, was eaten in stages…part in my car on the way to work, part actually at work.

Part Uno:

falafel

My frozen falafel wrap from Whole Foods!  Now, I’d never had falafel before and this blew me away!  SO deliciously hearty and spicy (wasn’t quite expecting that!)  It was 255 calories, with 7 grams of protein and was SO yummy.  Wish I had picked up more than one 😦

The rest of my lunch was a Dannon Light ‘N Fit Pineapple Coconut Yogurt and about a 1/2 cup of green grapes, eaten at work.

I also packed an apple, but wasn’t really hungry for it.

Tonight after I got home, I whipped up a meal similar to last night’s

dcfc0477

Another lovely salad (this time made by me):

About 1.5 cups baby spinach

1/2 sliced green pepper

A couple sliced strawberries

Sprinkle of feta (!!)

1 tbsp Balsamic Vin

Yum!

On the side I had another slice of that multi-grain bread (it’s so good!) and the other half of the pepper with my last 2 tbsp of Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus.  All gone 😦

I also had 1/2 cup Whipped cottage cheese and spinkle of my Trail Mix Bar granola on top! 🙂

I also got a special delivery today in my mailbox!

A few weeks ago I won a contest over at Nutritious is Delicious.  I won two of the highly coveted White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Luna Bars! I’m so excited to try these, as I can’t find them anywhere around here!  I got the package today, with a cute note

dcfc0476

Thank so much Emily, I can’t wait to try them! 🙂

Tonight needs to be a productive evening school work wise, so hopefully I get my butt in gear and get some done!  Wish me luck!

Edited to Add: Sarah is running a contest!  Win a magazine of your choice for a year! 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 19:04:12

    Thanks for the wrap info – I’ll keep my eyes peeled for it since it got the thumbs up!

    Woohoo for edible mail 🙂

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 20:12:34

    LOVE falafel!! Ohmy, so good!!! Can’t wait to hear what you think of the coveted Luna bars too. I can’t find them anywhere around here either. Good luck with the school work! I should actually be doing the same…

    Reply

  3. Kara
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 20:57:11

    Glad you liked the falafel! I bet you’ll like homemade even more!!

    Good luck on your work!!!

    Reply

  4. dailygoods
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 09:58:22

    i LOVEEE falafelsss! they are So good!!

    Reply

  5. sarahdbelle
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 13:58:38

    I love salad bars. They’re so much fun! The falafel wrap sounds delicious. And of course, I’ll count your comment for the correct post ; )

    Hope your day is going well!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  6. emily
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 14:11:53

    Hey girl! SOO Glad that you got the package (finally..right?! lol!) Your salad looks so refreshing!

    Now on to more important things (other than food!)…GILMORE GIRLS! I have been hunting for more information about what you told me and can’t find it! They don’t have the episode posted online yet, but I want to watch it when they do! Did she say it was a GG movie or just hint at it?! Sweet action! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

