Ground Control to Major Tom…

Do you guys remember that song??  We listened to it on the way to RI this weekend and now it’s stuck in my head!! Ahhh get out David Bowie, get out! 😛

Anyway…hi everyone! 🙂

Back to the grind on this lovely (and rainy here) Monday afternoon.

I woke up to the rain this morning (we even had a thunderstorm last night…love those!) so my idea for a long walk was out.  Instead I got up, checked some blogs, and then got started on some ab work in my apartment.  I’ve decided to get a lot more serious about toning and strength training…especially focusing on the abdominals.  I don’t do nearly enough work on them, and (like most people) this is the area I want to tone the most.  So I followed some instructional moves and videos I found online (some from Self.com) and did a few reps of those.  They were HARD though, so I can see this is going to be a challenge.  Well, they wouldn’t call it a workout if it wasn’t hard, right? 😉

I ate half a Kashi Chocolate Peanut bar before hitting the gym around 8:30 for a sweat sesh.

40 minutes on a new elliptical we have in the gym…it was interesting!  I feel I get a better workout on the other ellipticals I’m used to though.

10 minutes power walk on the treaddie

5 minutes of some more situps, leg lifts when I got back

Total Calories Burned: 390

For fuel, I made up a breakfast wrap (desperately needed a grocery trip!):

One whole wheat & rye La Tortilla Factory wrap (not a fan of the flavor, but I only have two left!!)

2 microwaved egg whites

1/2 a Laughing Cow Light Wedge

Sprinkle of Italian Seasoning and Garlic Powder (interesting combo!)

Leftover slices of a red pepper I had

1/2 cup Friendship 1% Whipped Cottage Cheese (!!)

Mug of White Chocolate Kisses Tea with 1 packet Stevia

cottage-cheese-and-egg-wrap

Tasty!

After getting ready, I headed out for a much needed grocery shopping excursion!

I thought maybe you guys would like to see my purchases!  This is mainly produce, with some cold items, as I got a lot at Whole Foods this weekend

shopping-trip-produce

In this picture, left to right, starting from the upper left…

Fresh Baby Spinach

Green Peppers

2 containers stawberries (on sale woo hoo!)

Green grapes (also on sale!)

Fuji apples

1 sweet potato

Loaf of bakery multi grain bread (great ingriedients list!)

shopping-trip-frozen

From left to right:

Stonyfield Low-Fat Vanilla Yogurt

Kashi Heart to Heart Waffles (can’t wait to make the wafflewichs everyone eats…never tried one!)

Lean Pockets Four Cheese Pizza (for my love, A 🙂 )

Broccoli Florets

Polenta Log, Sundried Tomato Flavor (so excited to try!!!)

Dannon Light ‘N Fit Pineapple Coconut Flavor (so good!)

Polaner All-Fruit, Strawberry

I also got a big salad from the salad bar for tonight’s dinner!  I’m very excited about that!  I got so much fresh produce this week, and hardly anything processed or packaged, and it feels great 🙂  I’m trying to jumpstart the bit of weight I’d like to lose, and I feel this is key 🙂

Buying the Stonyfield Yogurt in Low-Fat was a big deal for me.  I’m very used to purchasing ALL my yogurts (Chobani, Stonyfield, Dannon, Yoplait) all in fat-free versions.  However, last week (after getting my Stonyfield coupons!!) I decided to try the vanilla flavor in low-fat instead of fat-free and WOW, the creaminess is just so intensified!  I don’t plan on doing this with all yogurts, but a lot of the fat-free Stonyfield’s are just as high in calories as the low-fat, so I went for it 🙂  It’s going to make some great smoothies!

After my shopping trip, I whipped up a small bowl of oat bran for lunch before work:

1/3 cup oat bran

1/2 banana, smashed

1/2 tbsp flax seed, ground

sprinkle cinn

1/2 tbsp Adirondack Jack Saratoga Peanut Butter

Small lunch to hold me over a couple hours, as I wasn’t completely hungry due to a later breakfast.

I plan on packing a Blueberry Chobani and a fresh Fuji Apple for afternoon snacks, and perhaps the other half of my Kashi bar from this morning if I need it during my night class.

See you all later, have a great day!! 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 12:15:21

    I was just listening to that song this morning! That lunch sounds spectacular! Those Kashi waffles are my ultimate favs 🙂

    Reply

  2. peanutbutterandjuli
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 13:03:56

    So many good eats on here- don’t even know what to start with. I do know that seeing all these waffles is starting to break me down 🙂 Have a great day!

    Reply

  3. sarahdbelle
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 10:49:45

    Looks like a fabulous grocery shop! Love all the fruits and veggies ; )
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  4. luckytastebuds
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 14:48:32

    VERY NICE breakfast Michelle!! MY gosh it looks scrumptious. And thanks for sharing all those grocery purchases! I’m a big fan of fuji apples too, but the ones I buy seem to be GINORMOUS!! hahah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

