Weekend in the Ocean State

Hi everyone, I’ve missed you!  It’s weird how blogging and blog reading becomes such a part of your life, that being without it for a few days feels strange!  I’m glad to be back! 🙂

My trip to Rhode Island was so much fun!  I got a chance to do so many great things in such a short time!

Let’s begin with Friday afternoon…

After finishing up with my packing and odds and ends, I picked up A and we were on our way!  We stopped and put air in my tires and I got a favorite driving treat of mine…a Dunkin’ Donuts French Vanilla Coffee Coolatta made with skim milk!  I got a small, and it was delicious for the drive!

The drive went smoothly, and we got to RI by mid-afternoon. We hung out with my uncle for a bit in the afternoon and for lunch/snack stopped at Spike’s…a really fun hotdog place that has specialty hotdogs.  If you get a chance to try one, do it, they have such crazy combinations!  And they offer all of their combos as veggie dogs too!  I got Samuari Dog (or something like that) that had carmelized onions, swiss cheese, and teriyaki sauce on toasted buns, and I got mine as a veggie dog!  No picture, but it was a fun treat!

Then…. we went to Whole FOODS!!! My absolute favorite place!  Sadly, New York only has Whole Foods in NYC, and  don’t live there…SIGH.  Luckily, my uncle lives right up the road from one in RI so I always plan a trip there 😉

We picked up tons of goodies!  (Seriously, I could spend all day in there!)

Two Amy’s Soups (Low Sodium Split Pea and a Lentil one I think)

Two Containers of Friendship Whipped Cottage Cheese (LOVE IT!)

4  0% Chobanis…2 Blueberry, One Plain, One Vanilla

A frozen Indian meal, Channa Masala (can’t wait to try this!)

A frozen Falafel wrap (never had falafel!)

Stonyfield Farms Cookies & Dream Frozen Yogurt (sooo good)

Some bars!  Pure bars (never tried them!), Coconut Cream Larabar (never tried), Berry Almond Luna, Chocolate Chip Clif Bar, and a Cherry Pomegrante Clif Nectar Bar…plus some bars for A and my friends!

Optimum Zen Cranberry Ginger Cereal (great nutritional stats!)

And this lovely:

whole-foods-trail-mix

My own trail mix! This Whole Foods has a “make your own” trail mix bar and it’s awesome!  Mine included:

Vanilla Granola

Chocolate Chips

Raw cashews

Raisins

Dried papaya

Dried pineapple

Sour gummies

Toffee covered peanuts

So yummy!  I love that Whole Foods has this!

After the Whole Foods extravaganza, my uncle took A and I to dinner at Nick’s on Broadway in downtown Providence! Nick’s is a small place, and doesn’t have a website, but I snapped some pictures!  It was dark in there, so it wasn’t the best quality ever…

gnocchi

For an appetizer, the three of us shared Creamy Mushroom Gnocchi!  It was SO delicious, savory, and creamy!  Gnocchi is one of my favorite dishes, so this hit the spot!  We also shared an antipasto appetizer, but I seem to have lost the picture!  Bummer!

For my entree, I selected (pretty much the only vegetarian dish on the menu) a pasta dish with the “selected pasta” (which happened to be penne! Mm!) with broccoli and a cream sauce, with bread crumbs.  Not the healthiest, but it was delish…very rich and filling!

pasta-dish

It looks like there was red sauce on there, but that wasn’t the case! 🙂

After dinner, we were wiped, and headed back to my uncle’s.  I had some of my Cookies & Dream frozen yogurt later in the evening.

Saturday was a busy, but FUN day!

Saturday morning, my uncle brought us bagels from Panera Bread (a favorite of mine!) I didn’t want to overdo it because I knew I was going out to lunch, so I had a Multi-Grain bagel, half with Light Cream Cheese (about 1 tbsp) and half plain, with a very ripe banana on the side.  So tasty!

At noon, A and I headed over to the Garden Grille to meet Kristin for a blogger meet-up lunch!

Kristin and her sister was SO sweet and friendly!  We all got along really well, and had lots to chat about!  School, friends, food, blogs (of course!), driving, and even beer! 😉

To start, we all ordered some fun drinks!  I got the Kauai Kiss smoothie which is a combination of blueberry, pineapple, and banana

smoothie

So yummy!  Kristin ordered a Mango Juice, and her sister a Ginger Lemonade (so cool!!), while A treated himself to a beer!

For my entree, I ordered the Roasted Butternut Squash Quesadilla, which included the squash, black beans, jack cheese, and hunks of avocado.  Huge, but I ate most of it 😉

garden-grille-ques

Kristin ordered a tasty wrap off the specials menu, and her sister and A both got the specialty quesedilla…sweet potato and “chicken!” Yum!

We decided against dessert (too stuffed!) and said our goodbyes, but promised to keep in touch!  I had a great time 🙂

Saturday afternoon, A and I took advantage of the wonderful weather (70 degrees!!!) and took some nice, long walks around my uncle’s town.  It was great 🙂

Saturday evening, my uncle was throwing a dinner party for some work friends, so I didn’t get many pictures (the lighting was dim as well) but I did get a snapshot of a few things

table-set

mango-martinis

Mango Martinis!!! 😮

I had two throughout the course of the evening…flavored martinis are my weakness and I loooove them 😉

My uncle prepared a very nice, 4 course dinner!  It was so professional looking, it was crazy!  I wish I could have snapped some pics! 😦

We started with these for appetizers

hummus

White Bean Hummus from Whole Foods, with some spicy orange peppers on top!  So good!

shrimp-cocktail

Shrimp cocktail!  The cocktail sauce (which I don’t usually care fore) was a Mango Wasabi flavor and actually very good!

For dinner (here’s where the pictures end!) we had a creamy carrot soup to start, followed by a green salad with pears, walnuts, and blue cheese tossed in a mustard dressing (SO good, minus the blue cheese for me haha).  Our main course was marinated salmon filets (my first time trying salmon!) with roasted baby potatoes and broccoli rabe (surprisingly not a fan 😦 ) For dessert we had a Chocolate Cheesecake from Whole Foods (my pic, obv.) and it was to die for!  And I came home with 2 extra pieces for the freezer 😉

Overall, it was such a great night!

Today we went out to a great brunch place called Ts.  After a bit of a wait, I ordered this

ts-breakfast

I got the specialty omelette…egg whites, asparagus, chicken (I asked for it without, but got seved it anyway…I just picked it out!), and tomatoes!  Served with a whole grain English Muffin and fresh fruit salad on the side!  I’ve been to Ts before, and I’ve always enjoyed it there! 🙂

We hit the road early today to avoid traffic, and made it back to school safely!  I had big plans of going grocery shopping today when I got back, but I’ve been feeling a bit off today (probably due to a lack of fruits & veggies..I feel out of balance).  SO I decided to forgo the trip and save it for tomorrow morning before work (having oat bran tonight anyway 😉 )

How was your weekend everyone?  I hope it went as well as mine did, and it was filled with family, friends, and love! 🙂

Have a great Sunday!


8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becca A
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 16:26:06

    The quesadilla sounds awesome. Glad you had a good time!

    Reply

  2. peanutbutterandjuli
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 16:42:01

    Sounds like you had a great weekend! And that trail mix bar looks AWESOME!!!

    Reply

  3. Kara
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 16:49:55

    I keep hearing about these Trail Mix bars, but I can’t find them at any of the WFs around here!!

    I hope you like the falafel! I love it!

    Enjoy your Sunday and have an amazing week!!

    Reply

  4. ksgoodeats
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 17:14:28

    Nice WFs haul! Falafel is so good! What brand wrap did you get? Glad you enjoyed your weekend! Everything looks delicious!

    Reply

    • Michelle
      Mar 29, 2009 @ 18:47:20

      Hey K!

      I got the Green Cedar Cuisine Original Falafel Wrap! I’ve never heard of it or tried it, but I’ll let you know how it is!!! 🙂

      -M

      Reply

  5. Yasmin
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 17:45:44

    Oh my gosh, that quesadilla sounded so good. I wonder if I can re-create that with my quesadilla-maker?

    Reply

  6. Emily
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 19:32:27

    What an awesome weekend~ I know what you mean about blogging!

    Roasted Butternut Squash Quesadilla = YUMMMMMM!

    Reply

  7. Andrea (Off Her Cork)
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 08:48:43

    Wow your Uncle made a very impressive dinner menu! 🙂 Glad you’re having a good time. My WF doesn’t have a trail mix bar so I’m off to pout about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

