Stepping It Up

Gooood afternoon bloggies!  Happy Hump Day, it’s practically the weekend 😉

Today is an exceptionally good day because…I don’t have work!  Woo hoo! We’re closed today! Sweeeet.

I was really rather pooey last night (didn’t stop me from having about a cup of Chocolate Free Cookies and Creams though!) so I went to sleep early-ish and got such a good nights sleep!  I got up around 6:40 am (I wake up that early naturally), and lazed around for about an hour and a half.

I had a cup of Lemon Lift decaffinated tea with a packet of Stevia in the Raw and my first attempt at…

STOVE TOP OATS!

I’ve seen lots of bloggers trying these out recently, so I figured I’d give it a shot!  My mix:

1/3 cup oats

1/4 cup pumpkin

1/3 cup water, plus a little extra and a splash of milk

Cinnamon

1/2 tbsp flax

1/2 tbsp each Maple PB and Adirondack Jack PB

stove-top-oats

This is what I came up with.  I cooked the oats, the liquid, and the cinnamon together for a couple minutes, then stirred in the pumpkin.  I cooked it for another minute or two and added PB and flax on top.  I don’t know…it was just okay.  I can definitely see the appeal to some people:  they’re extra creamy (even when you use water) but something about it was just off.  I think maybe a little too much liquid?  I’m not sure, but I’m thinking I prefer the microwave!  I wouldn’t be opposed to giving it another shot though! 🙂

After letting breakfast digest I headed over to the gym for a workout. Today’s included:

40 minutes elliptical (varying levels 12-15)

15 minutes bike, cardio hill (varying levels 5 and 6)

A little ab work

Total calories burned: 420

After the gym and some paper writing, I had a little (unpictured) snack of some cucumber slices with a little Cedar’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus.  I’m more of a Sabra fan, but I like Cedar’s and I have an open container of both haha.

Then…A and I went to Panera for lunch!! Woo hoo, I love Panera!  I got the full size Orchard Harvest Salad (without the gorgonzola…yuck!) and a whole grain baugette on the side

panera-orchard-harvest

It was awesome!  I’ve been having a weird craving for dried cranberries lately, and these dried cherries (there were a lot!) hit the spot nicely.

After lunch, I made a quick trip to pick up some paperwork on campus.  I stopped at this sort of on-campus convinient store they have there.  It’s insanely overpriced on most things, but when I lived in the dorms my freshman-junior years, we had a meal plan setup that allowed you to have a certain amount of money in an account and use it to buy things at this store.  They felt, essentially, “free,” but most definitely were not! Haha.  I wandered in today to pick up a Diet Iced Tea and decided to take a look around…it’s been forever since I’ve been in there.

I was shocked! I knew towards the end of last year they began adding a few healthier items to their stock, but WOW, this was amazing!  They had Lunas, Luna Tea Cakes, Luna Shot Blocks, Clif Bars, the ever sought after Pure bars (couldn’t see paying $3.00 for one, so I passed!), Annie’s Products, Kashi bars and cereal, Optimum Power individual cereals, Balance Bars…just tons of stuff!  I have to commened my school for this!  They’ve really stepped it up a notch or two!  I am so pleased to see these items being stocked on a college campus, where healthy eating is not always encouraged.  Kudos to you college!  Nice one! 🙂

This afternoon I snacked on some leftover popcorn that I had from a bag I micro-ed up last night.  Not bad.

Even though I don’t have work today, that doesn’t stop my boss from scheduling a mandatory meeting right smack in the middle of the day…sigh.  After the meeting I have my night class.  I plan on probably having a Blueberry Oikos Yogurt sometime this afternoon…not sure when.  And maybe an apple.  We’ll see.  Right now, I’m just thirsty!

Happy Hump Day everyone!! 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 17:33:57

    PANERA!!! I love that place! Yay for the college stepping up the nutritious snacks 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kara
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 18:08:38

    If the oats were too watery, you can try cooking them down a little more. I love stovetop!

    And I LOVE that salad at Panera! Except I also love stinky cheese 🙂

    OK twin… I totally went to our on-campus convenient store for the first time in a LONG time, too!!! They had a lot of Amy’s stuff.

    Have a good night!!

    Reply

  3. priyankalovesfood
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 18:29:01

    That’s great, I mean healthy bars at College campus is like the best thing!

    Reply

  4. erinbee
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 21:55:53

    mmm. lovin the peanut butter in the oats.

    were addicts.

    Reply

  5. Andrea (Off Her Cork)
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 11:12:42

    Love the salad! Oh Panera, what a happy place. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

