Too Much Fiber?

Hey all! How’s everyone’s Tuesday going? Mine’s going okay!

Last night’s dinner was thrown together with leftovers…and quickly!  After class I was a hungry hungry hippo!

naan-pepper

1/2 (I think) of a red pepper (my favorite!), sliced

1/2 Whole Wheat Naan bread (mmm Naan is so delicious!)

1 tbsp Sabra RRP humms

With…beans

The end of a can of black beans I had opened over the weekend, with salsa and a sprinkle of feta (mm!)

I had a small bowl (unpictured) of a cereal mix…about 1/3 cup Kashi Heart to Heart, 1/4 cup (end of the box!) Optimum Power Cereal, 1 tbsp semi-sweet chocolate chips (my fave!), a sprinkle of cinn, with a little teeny spoonful of Saratoga Maple Peanut Butter (didn’t even use up my 1-2 tbsp quota for the day…ahh!) all on top of skim milk.  Hit the spot.  Although, I didn’t feel too good after eating it 😦

Which brings me to the title for the post…do any of you have issues with getting too much fiber in your diet?

I always (well, almost always) meet the daily requirements of 25-35g of fiber daily for women.  I make sure I almost always choose whole grains in anything I can; I eat oatmeal/oatbran daily, I eat a lot of raw and frozen veggies on a daily basis, and I eat one apple every day, and usually a banana too.  I get enough fiber…but how much is too much?

I added up my fiber intake (an estimate) from yesterday’s eats…and even though I tried to underestimate a little bit, I still clocked in at 59 g of fiber!  AHH!  That’s a lot!  I think last night’s snack (which was fiberlicious too) just pushed me over the edge into the uncomfortable zone.  Does anyone else feel bloated and/or get indigestion from too much fiber in their diet?  Tonight before my dinner I started feeling gross again, and I’m going to wind up clocking in pretty high for today as well (somewhere in the 40’s area for grams of fiber).  Any tips out there?

Anywho, onto to today!

I got up bright and early at 5:50 am this morning to hear over to my school’s gym (which opens at 6:30am) for a quick workout before my morning classes.  I only have time for a 30 minute workout on Tuesdays and Thursdays (I could go after work, but let’s be honest, I’m just ready to come home!) so I headed over there and did a nice 30 minutes on the elliptical, levels 9-12.

Calories Burned: 240

While getting ready (I’m on quite a time crunch) I scarfed down (can’t stand eating fast! Booo!) a bowl of oat bran

1/2 cup Quaker Oat Bran

Small scoop pumpkin

1 smashed ‘naner

Sprinkle cinnamon

Sprinkle flax seed

Made with skim milk and water with exactly a tablespoon of…

Maple Peanut Butter

How I’ve missed you my love. 😦

This kept me full until about 11:45 am, when I snacked on a Jonagold apple (anyone tried these??)

I dashed straight from class to work, with only time for a brief stop in my apartment.  I grabbed this for a quick lunch on the go:

samosa-wrap

Amy’s Indian Samosa Wrap!  I had never tried this one before (it was on sale at the co-op last week) so I picked it up.  I’m a big fan of all Amy’s products, especially the dairy-free bean burritos, and her split-pea soup.  I ate this while driving to work.  It was…ehh.  I have high expectations due to Amy’s stellar products, but this one didn’t thrill me.  I think it was just the ingriendients…not something I’d usually mix.  It had potatoes, peas, and tofu in it and I just thought it was a bit of a weird combo for me.  Sorry Amy’s!  I’m not discouraged though, I’ll try lots of their products 🙂

During work I snacked on this

oikos

A little Oikos action!  Curteousy of Kristina at Stonyfield Farms!  I’d never tried the plain flavor before.  I found it to be amazingly thick, but a little on the sour side.  I like Chobani plain yogurt better, but this was still tasty!

I also snacked on half a sliced cucumber and another Jonagold.

After work I headed home to make what had been on my mind all afternoon…”chicken” stir-fry! 😀

I threw some leftover frozen bell pepper and onion, along with some broccoli and snow peas in a pan with 2 tbsps teriyaki marinade.  I added a serving (12 strips) of Morningstar Chik’n strips!  These are sooo tasty!  Some people may not care for the texture (it’s a little gummy) but it’s right up my alley!  I topped it with some garlic powder, s&p, some crushed red pepper, and a little parm. cheese.

stir-fry

Yum.  It literally took me 5 minuts to make!  Can’t beat that!

On the side I had a whole wheat wrap, slightly heated, with a Laughing Cow Light wedge.

Yum-O!

The rest of the night promises lots of studying/paper writing!  Super.  And probably a snack in there too (Super!  For real this time haha).  I actually have off from work tomorrow (woo!) but I have a training that I have to go to instead, and my night class 😦  But I have until 4 pm to do whatever! (aka more paper writing! Joy!)

That’s about it for me!

I do want to give a major shoutout to all the new readers out there (lurkers and non-lurkers!)  I can’t tell you all enough how much it means to me to know that there are people out there reading the blog, and best of all they are sweet, funny, kind, awesome people!  Couldn’t ask for anything better!  So THANK YOU all who make me smile everyday! 🙂

Have a good night!!

Edited to add: I just realized I was given this from Kara over at Cook Eat Read Sleep

kreativ-blogger

Awesome!! Thanks so much Kara, I love your blog too! 🙂

The rules are as follows:

List 7 things that you love, and then pass the award on to 7 bloggers that you love! Be sure to tag them and let them know that they have won. You can copy the picture of the award and paste it on your sidebar letting the whole world know…you are Kreativ!

7 Things that I love:

  1. My Mom:  She is truly my best friend, and my rock 🙂
  2. My Nana:  She passed away nearly two years ago, but she’s always in my heart
  3. Books:  They make me so HAPPY! I love love love to read, and nothing is as good as escaping in a wonderful story
  4. My friends and boyfriend (I love you A!):  They are ALWAYS there for me, and make me smile every, single day 🙂
  5. Specialty Cheesecakes:  Do I really have to get into it? 😉
  6. Specialty Peanut Butters:  Dark Chocolate, Maple, Cinnamon Raisin…it’s a girl’s dream!
  7. My life.  Plain and simple.  I thank God for it every day.  I am very blessed.

Let’s see…who to tag, who to tag…

Becca

Haleigh

K

Michelle

Nutritious Is Delicious

Sarah

Kristin

Ahh that was so hard! (Literally took me like 20 minutes!)  You’re all amazing ladies out there and it was crazy hard to pick just 7!  Trust me, I love you all!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kara
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 19:21:10

    Yay! Glad you liked! And yes, we are seeming more and more like twins. I think your questioning of fiber intake is what set it over the top 🙂

    Reply

  2. Yasmin
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:07:44

    Ugh…I hate that feeling when you eat too much fiber. It’s very filling but soooo uncomfortable. I’ve heard to drink more water but that never helps me.

    Reply

  3. Haleigh
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:30:15

    Thanks for the blog award girl! I am glad that you enjoy reading and you definitely deserve the award yourself! Freakin’ awesome blog! 🙂 I feel ya on the too much fiber, I am sometimes left bloated and uncomfortable.. usually if I feel that way I try to skip oatmeal for a few days and that usually helps.

    And you definitely can’t beat 5 minute dinner meals! and yours sound delicious, another plus! Enjoy your evening!

    Reply

  4. Leanne
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:09:00

    I want to try that Indian wrap!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

