Clouds for Breakfast

Dum da dum dum…it’s Monday!  Monday’s don’t really bother me much at all…I actually prefer having more of a “routine” during the week to the craziness that is usually my weekends!  Don’t get me wrong, I still count down the days ’til Friday 😉

How was your weekend?  Full of fun stuff?  I hope so! 🙂

Last night I relaxed in bed with my laptop and my study materials…which really meant watching Bridezillas (anyone else watch this show?!  I think it’s hilarious!) and reading blogs.  Haha oh well, I wouldn’t be a college student if I didn’t procrastinate somewhat, right??

Even though my pasta dish last night was super filling, I still was feeling snacky.  I grabbed a couple handfuls of this

kashi-cereal

Kashi Heart to Heart aka one of my favorite cereals!  It’s like a more wholesome, upgraded honey nut cheerio! 🙂

After a few bites, I realized I didn’t really want cereal, and I saw my roomie’s ice cream scooper in the sink so…I had a bowl (bout 2 servings 😮 ) of Breyers Chocolate Cookies and Cream Fat Free Ice Cream…delish.

And this also happened:

empty-mighty-maple

Uh oh. Empty Mighty Maple jar! It was almost gone, and I wanted some so I finished it off.  I also kinda finished A‘s Dark Chocolate Dreams container on Friday night 😛

So I have a little peanut butter musing I want to put out there…

I think I have a peanut butter problem, plain and simple.

I LOVE peanut butter of all kinds, and I think it’s a classic case of too much of a good thing.  I usually include 1-2 tbsp of PB in my morning oats, which is fine and healthy, but throughout the day I tend to snag baby spoonfuls of various PBs whenever I feel the need/pass the cabinet.  This is not good! I’ve put on a few lbs recently, and considering it’s nearly April, it’s time to stop blaming “holiday weight” and starting being accountable.  I really do think that these extra nips at the PB jar (and evenings with the PB jar and spoon) have added up and affected my weight.  I mean, I’m sure there are other things at play too, but I really do believe it’s a big factor.  Sigh.  Why do all things, even healthy things, have to be taken in moderation…they’re SO tasty.  So I have a plan:  I’m going to limit my PB intake to 1 tbsp per day (2 tbsps if it’s my main protein source, as I did go vegetarian for Lent).  I’ll probably use that tablespoon in my morning oats/oat bran and that’ll be that.  No more nightly dips into the jar, or swipes of it as I walk by.  I think this is honestly going to save me a few hundred calories a day, and will also save me $$ as I go through about a jar of peanut butter a week, which is a tad excessive.

So that’s that.  Sad as it is 😦  I’ll let you all know how it goes.

ANYWAY!  Onto more fun stuff.

This morning I got up early around 6:45 am and went for a 50 minute walk around campus.  It was very chilly this morning (this feels like the teens!) but it was bearable with two pairs of pants and a fleece.  HOWEVER about halfway through my talk it started to be very windy…which is not cool when it’s already freezing outside.  So I cut my usual 1 hour walk a bit short and hightailed it back to my apartment.  I already had my workout clothes on and ready; I waited a few minutes until the gym opened and headed over for a workout sesh.

Today’s workout:

Walk outside:  180-200 calories (estimate…my HRM was acting up…it was probably frozen 😛 )

40 minutes on the elliptical, varying between levels 12-15:  300 calories

3 sets of 12 reps on an abdominal machine, plus a little light stretching

Altogether (what the HRM said after the gym, plus the walk cals. factored in…): 500-520 calories torched

Woo woo!

After my workout and a shower, I made a little breakfast.  I wasn’t in the mood for oats (craziness, I know) so I made this instead

yogurt-bowl-breakfast

What is this you ask?

Here’s what’s in the mix today~

Yogurt bowl!!

1 Oikos organic greek yogurt (I’m a Chobani lover, but this was like eating a little cloud…very good!)

1 sliced banana

2 huge strawberries, sliced

Sprinkle of flax

On the side I had 1/3 cup egg whites, made in the micro with a squirt of ketchup

And a Thomas’ Light Multigrain English Muffin

On the side of all of this, I had a cup of White Chocolate Kisses hot tea with a packet of Stevia in the Raw

I bought Stevia packets at the supermarket the other day.  I’ve been holding off because I can get Splenda for free on campus, and Stevia (although I know it’s tons better for me!) is a lot more expensive than free. Haha

But I finally caved and purchased Stevia in the Raw (is it any different than Truvia…they’re both made from the Stevia plant, yet SitR was a bit cheaper!?)

I think, taste wise, it’s a little less sweet than Splenda, but still plenty sweet!  1 packet = 2 tsps sugar, and I really enjoyed it!  And the health benefits are worth the extra dough 🙂

I’m currently sipping on a cup of Lemon Lift decaffinated tea (love this flavor!) as I”m freezing, and try to limit myself to one caffeinated beverage a day, or I get a tad jittery.  I don’t drink coffee, and have given up diet soda (the only kind I drink) for Lent, so it’s usually not much of an issue!

I’ve got the usual grind today of work, then my night class, then leftovers for dinner.  I have a paper due this week, so I better get cracking on that!

I can’t wait for this weekend!  I’m heading to Rhode Island for the weekend to visit my uncle, but while I”m there…Blogger Meet-up with Kristin and another blog reader!  I’m really excited about this!  I’m sure there will be pictures posted!  If any of you are in the New England area and want to make the trek to RI (you don’t have to have a blog, you can be a reader!)  and want to join us, please feel free to e-mail Kristin or myself (balancemycake@gmail.com) and let us know!  It’s gonna be a lot of fun! 🙂

On that note, time to get going on that paper!

Have a wonderful Monday!

Oh!

I’d also like to wish a Happy 5 Month Anniversary to A and myself 😉

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 11:07:28

    We’re just one more Monday closer to summer 🙂 Oh gosh – Bridezillas is hilarious! Good luck with the PB – having to cut back is very sad!

    Happy 5 Months!!

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 11:32:56

    K- It IS sad 😦 But hopefully beneficial!

    And thanks for the anniversary shout out 🙂

    -M

    Reply

  3. FoodsThatFit
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 12:01:14

    I haven’t tried the Mighty Maple flavor of PB & Co. but LOVED the white chocolate flavor! I ate is on Medjool dates and it was heaven!

    Reply

  4. Yasmin
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 12:21:09

    So sad to give up the thing u love so much!

    Reply

  5. luckytastebuds
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 13:13:29

    hiii there!! I just found your blog and:
    1. We share the same first name. 😛
    2. I heart Chobani too!!!
    3. I love the way you write! Your blog is awesome, and I like that you’re very courageous in facing weight issues. Like, putting on a couple pounds and not blaming it on holiday weight, which I tend to do! You’re a fabulous role model girlie!!! And happy anniversary!!

    Reply

  6. Kara
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 13:24:16

    First of all, your blog is adorable and I love it! Second, thank you so much for visiting mine and for being so sweet. I’m trying to take it one step at a time. I’m definitely adding you to my reader and blogroll!!

    Reply

  7. sarahdbelle
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 14:40:05

    I try not to buy a lot of sunbutter for the very same reason. I constantly snack on it ; ) And it’s expensive.
    As far as a trip goes, I’m not sure if I’d head to AC anytime soon. It was fun, but I’d prefer a trip to Annapolis or maybe another beach town.
    Happy 5 months to you!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  8. Andrea (Off Her Cork)
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 18:49:53

    I prefer schedules too! It calms me when things are scheduled out. 😀 Nice yogurt mess!

    Reply

  9. Haleigh
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 20:18:29

    Ah, I always get so sad when the Mighty Maple PB jar is empty 😦 Hope that you enjoyed your day girl!

    Reply

  10. erinbee
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 13:23:02

    heyhey. ive never been to your blog before
    but i hear you on the peanut butter front.
    i opened a new jar on saturday morning and
    it is definitely over halfway gone. oops. but
    i love peanut butter too much to cut back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

