Bowl of Comfort

Ah, and here ends another weekend 😦 It’s sad to see it go.

I started my Sunday with a lovely bowl of oat bran/oats combo.

1/4 cup of each, oat bran and oats

Scoop canned pumpkin

1 banana, smashed

Sprinkle cinnamon

Sprinkle flax seed

All liquified with skim milk and a little water

Topped with my new lovely Adirondack Jack and Maple Saratoga Peanut Butters! They’re perfect for an oat bowl!

I went grocery shopping this afternoon and worked on some schoolwork.  I snacked an entire small green pepper with 1 tbasp Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus and a few HUGE strawberries

peppers-strawberries

I also attempted a combo that I’ve seen on a couple blogs…a pumpkin and egg white mixture, to make a cake like consistency in the microwave.  I didn’t know what portions to use at all and it came out…not tasty 😦

pumpkin-egg

Bleh. Won’t be trying that without the proper measurements again!

I snacked on a Jonagold (so yummy!) apple, sliced, with some Adirondack Jack PB this afternoon.

Tonight for dinner, I prepared a dish that is especially close to my heart.  My Nana who I love so much passed away nearly two years ago.  She was one of my best friends. Growing up I was a quite picky eater.  My Nana would always make me a special pasta dish when I didn’t like what everyone else was having.  It’s not healthy at all but it’s SO delicious…I grew up on it.

Nana’s Pasta

1 can Campbell’s Condensed Tomato Soup

Pasta, whatever amount

???? Amount of butter!

Lots of parm. cheese

Boil the pasta.  Heat the soup, butter, and cheese mixture in the micro. for about a minute and a half.  Drain pasta, then pour into the tomato mix, add more parm. cheese to taste.  I’m not sure how much butter and cheese my Nana used, but I’m going to assume it was a lot 🙂

Tonight, for the first time, I attempte to re-create this wonderful dish.  I followed the directions exactly, only substituting Smart Balance (1 tbsp) for butter and used Whole Wheat White Barilla Pasta.  I steamed up some broccoli and had a piece of the roomie’s Italian bread as a side.

pastabroccoli-bread

It came out fabulously 🙂

Sometimes a bowl of comfort is all we need?

What are your sentimental/comfort foods?

Oh! And check out Kristin’s Quaker Giveaway over on her blog 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea (Off Her Cork)
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 07:45:54

    Sabra roasted red pep is my favorite hummus! I usually add a few sprinkles of garlic powder for some extra kick. 🙂

    Reply

  2. ksgoodeats
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 08:39:17

    The only good thing about the end of the weekend is that it’s just another day closer to warmer weather 🙂

    Fun pasta dish!! My comfort food: green bean casserole and home made bread 😀 Over Thanksgiving my family made a WHOLE baking dish of it for me!!

    Reply

  3. Haleigh
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 09:00:47

    The pasta dish looks fantastic! And my comfort food is definitely bread. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

