Sushilicious

Saturday Saturday Saturday! So exciting…the weekend’s only half over people…embrace it!

How’s everyone’s weekend going?  Well, I hope! 🙂

Mine’s going pretty good!  Last night we just stayed in and watched TV…I did a little snacking, but nothing too major.

Had a little Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter to finish off the boy’s container (thanks hun!! 🙂 ) after realizing I had essentially no protein pretty much since breakfast ahhh!  I also snacked on the other half of a Kashi bar I had from during the movie.  And an apple…that seemed to do it!

We went to bed early…my head was killing me last night!  I tried to wait it out but eventually took some pain relievers for it…ughh it was awful.  I didn’t really sleep well…loud street noises (and frat house noises next door BAH!), and my boyfriend wasn’t feeling well either.  I got up early around 7 and lounged around until 8:30 ish.

We came back to my apartment and went for a run around campus!  It was fabulous…very invigorating!

I jogged/walked for 43 minutes, about 3 miles (est.???) and burned 330 calories, approx.  Not bad!  Although it was quite chilly so early…20 degrees eek!

I ate a Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar for a pre-run snack (don’t worry, it was an old one prior to the yank of all things peanut butter).  Although, as a side note.  I was at the grocery store today and noticed they had removed ALL Lunas and Clifs from the shelf except some stray LemonZest flavors!  Whaaaaat!?  AND the Peanut Butter Cookie Larabars were back!!  What’s going on!?

So, after jogging I wasn’t crazy hungry (and knew we were going out for lunch) so I had a Vanilla Chobani with a sprinkle of Peanut Butter Puffins (only a handful left ah!).  Hit the spot!

My boyfriend….okay, I’m going to refer to him as “A” from now on because this is a bit ridiculous calling him “the boyfriend” LOL.  So, A it is.

A surprised me last week by telling me he ordered me a little something special…

adirondack-jackmaple

AHHHHH!!! What are these you ask?  Only some of THE best peanut butter I’ve ever tasted…and I’m a PB fiend!

My friend sent me a weblink to a website for what’s called Saratoga Peanut Butter.  I basically drooled at the screen.  It offers Dark chocolate, white chocolate, maple, smooth, chunky, banana, almond butter, and the specialty…Adirondack Jack nut butters.  Kinda of like PB & Co. but it’s not nearly as big or anything…it’s a locally run place.  A saw me drooling (how’d he notice!? Haha 😉 ) and surprised me by ordering me two jars!  Maple and Adirondack Jack!  I was soooo excited, I wish I brought a spoon to the post office!  I managed to hold off until I came home and then tried a bit of both. All I have to say is…

Happy. Ness.

So good!  The maple is made from peanuts, honey, maple syrup, and vanilla and is just grainy and sweet-but-not-too-sweet and wonderful!  But the Adirondack Jack is truly something special.  It is a 50/50 base of peanuts and almonds and includes cranberries, sunflower seeds, flax seed, and honey.  WOW was this tasty!  I noramally find regular Almond butter to be a bit on the dry tasting side, so I usually stick to PB.  I want to like AB though and this baby sold me…50/50 is the way to go!  It was grainy, sweet and salty…basically, as my roommate said “Tastes like trail mix in a jar”  She’s so right, it does!  Saratoga Peanut Butter is based in NY, but delivers all over the world (read their testimonials!)  If you’re looking for affordable, delicious, fun kinds of nut butter…try it!  Seriously, it’s great! 🙂

A and I decided to try and sushi/hibachi place for lunch today.  They have Lunch Specials Monday-Saturday, not just the typical Monday-Friday, so I was excited about that!  We each got the “Lunch Box” which included (same except for whatever protein source you chose) Miso soup, a California Roll, veggies tempura and these tasty little dumpling balls…not sure what they were, but I ate them!  Haha

I chose Tofu Teriyaki for my protein (vegetarian for Lent!)

miso-soup

lunch-box-sushiIsn’t that awesome?  It was SO much food…all for $9.00!!  If we had known, we may or may not have ordered this

spider-roll

A Spider Roll…I had never tried it before (soft shell crab) but I took A’s word for it, and loved it!! 🙂 Delish!

We were pretty full after leaving, but after a grocery shop and a stop to pick up my roommate we hit up the local ice cream stand that just opened last week!  Sweet!

I love this place because they offer only soft-serve ice cream, and they make a point to offer low-fat frozen yogurt and what they call “No-No” ice cream…no fat, no added sugar.  And they have great, weekly changing flavors.  I had the Pistachio/Vanilla No-No with Peanut Butter Cups.  mmmm it was wonderful, but I probably could have been satisfied (at least physically) with a small, but mentally, I wanted (and got!) a medium 😉

Now I’m just hanging out doing some studying and blog reading (guess which one is taking priority 😉 ) until I’m gonna cook up dinner in a few hours.  I”m making acorn squash for me, and homemade macaroni and cheese for A.  I’ll letcha know how it comes out.

Tonight we’re meeting a couple of my girlfriends at a bar right near my apartment, which is nice.  Most of the places we frequent are a bit farther away, which can be kind of a pain when it comes to parking.

Happy Saturday everyone!  and…Happy SPRING! 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ksgoodeats
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 16:19:09

    A sure does know the way to a girl’s heart! Yummy PB 🙂

    Hope the rest of your weekend is just as good as Saturday has been!!

    Reply

  2. peanutbutterandjuli
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 18:50:25

    PB!!!!!!!!!!! YUM YUM YUM!!!!

    I’ll take one of each 🙂 Have a great day!

    Reply

  3. Becca A
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 21:32:36

    The nut butters sound great…banana sounds like a good one too!

    Reply

  4. Shannon (The Daily Balance)
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 15:08:39

    those PBs look amazing! As does the sushi! two of my fave foods!!

    I just stumbled upon your blog — love it!

    I just started one of my own, check it out when you get a moment 😉

    Reply

  5. Haleigh
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 15:10:58

    Oh, no! I always get so sad when I see the end of the PB Puffins box 😦 The sushi looks delicious and I just love maple peanut butter, I have come to the conclusion that I am obsessed with the stuff! Enjoy the rest of your weekend girl!

    Reply

  6. Lindsay
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 16:33:54

    happy spring to you too!!!

    love all your pb eats – yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

