Freakin’ Weekend!

Happy Saturday! I have polished off quite the workload this week…a HUGE paper, and two big exams ughh.

BUT I’m finally finished! Woo-Hoo!

This means some much needed Michelle-time is in order, definitely! I lounged around in bed this morning (night out last night) and had a Kashi bar to start off my day.

This afternoon I decided to just lounge around in sweats, watching MADE and What Not to Wear (my fave!!) re-runs and while I was working oh-so hard I whipped up a few snacky items:

veggies1

A veggie tasting plate of 2 tbsp. Cedar’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (I wish I could afford Sabra regularly!  Tear.)

1 tbsp Ken’s Healthy Line Parmesean Peppercorn Ranch Dressing

An entire red pepper!

Some baby carrots

Along with,

eng-muffin

A Stop & Shop Light Raisin English Muffin with 1 tbsp Smart Balance.  This puppies only have 90 cals!! Amazing!

And finally

0228091320

The rest of a carton (a little over a half cup) of egg whites, some real feta cheese and spring mix, microwaved. Mmmm heaven.

Tonight I’m going out to dinner with the boy, my roommate, and her boyfriend who’s in town for the weekend.  We’re going to a fun restaurant that I’ve been to only once before, so I’m pretty excited!  They have an extensive martini list and I love flavored martinis! 😀

ALSO! Kind of big news!

As you all know, Ash Wednesday marked the beginning of Lent.  I am fairly religious, and have decided to go vegetarian for Lent!  This won’t be a huge change for me…I rarely eat red meat to begin with.  However, I am giving up turkey and chicken and that’s gonna be a bit tougher for me!  I only eat seafood (tuna and shrimp) about once a month, so I will allow myself those (along with dairy and eggs) if I choose.  I’m excited to embark on this!  I get PLENTY of protein in my diet even without meat so luckily, that won’t be an issue.  I am also giving up soda (only drink diet about once a week but hey, it’s something!) and trying to cut back on my use of artificial sweeteners, such as Splenda.

Another goal of mine (not something I’m giving up, but something I’m doing for ME) is to start appreciating myself more!  I would be lying if I said I 100% loved what I saw in the mirror every day, but I really should!  I am a smart, beautiful, strong woman, and my goal (not just for Lent, but for life!) is to embrace that even more than I already do!  We all deserve that! 😀

What are your goals for Lent and for Life?

Happy Weekend Bloggers!!! 😉

PS!  Head on over to Yogurt & Berries Blog for a Yoplait giveaway!  🙂

Leave a Reply

